Search Unity

Project Time Estimation

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by ikazrima, Jul 13, 2016.

1. ikazrima

ikazrima

Hey guys,

I need to come up with a project timeline, with heavy emphasis on 3D assets. I'm a programmer, and haven't worked with a professional artists before so I'm having a rough time estimating assets creation. That includes modelling individual props and map design.

I've looked around Polycount and some other places, the summary is as in the image attached.

The examples given are for HQ characters, while I'm aiming for something much lower. Maybe 500 to 1500 per object? Focus is on the interior design and props, less so on character. Areas are mostly indoors.

Any input is highly appreciated. Thanks!

Polycount thread

upload_2016-7-13_16-41-46.png

Last edited: Jul 13, 2016
  2. shaderop

shaderop

Four to eight hours for rigging a character seems unrealistically low to me, even when using auto-rigging systems like Blender's Rigify. Same for animations. One to two hours is too low for anything but the simplest movements.

Come to think of it, most of estimates in the first table would be more realistic if you were to change the heading of the last column to "days" instead of "hours."

3. ikazrima

ikazrima

Ouch! That's a vast difference there.

The estimate is per object though, does it really take up to 4-8 days for one scenery prop? Say, a furniture?

4. shaderop

shaderop

Probably not, but it depends. Maybe half a day to a couple of days is a more realistic estimate in this particular case.

5. Fera_KM

Fera_KM

Can you link to an image, or title, that displays the "target quality", or something in that area.

6. ikazrima

ikazrima

The Sims 3/4 would be the closest thing I imagine. I can't go for a more realistic look, since there's planning on taking a sub module (avatar creation) and put it on mobile. Yeah I forgot to mention, main platform would be windows.

7. Fera_KM

Fera_KM