Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Unity 2022.2 is now available as the latest Tech release.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We are making some changes to the DOTS forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

Question project path does not exist for mac

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by jackysaktilim, May 6, 2021.

  1. jackysaktilim

    jackysaktilim

    Joined:
    May 4, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    I have a problem when making a new project

    i just download unity hub 2.4.3 in unity version 2020.3.6f1
    and i really want to try create a new project even though i haven't download VS yet
    so when i want to create a new project and it located to "/Users/macbookpro" and then i click the Create button and it just automaticly went to the dekstop and nothing happen

    so i open again my unity hub and there is my new project, but when i want to open it, it doesn't let me to open it
    and it's saying "Project path dost not exist : /Users/macbookpro/New Unity Project"

    but when i click Add button to open the project's file in my folder, there is none of my project

    i even try to download a new version of unity from 2020 to 2021 but it still didn't work
    uninstall and installed it again and the same result

    i don't know what to do right now :(

    please give me a solution to fix this, it would very helpfull if this forum get answered:)
     
    denispallstropi likes this.
  2. JoeStrout

    JoeStrout

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    9,798
    I'm not sure what happened there. Try creating your project in a different place (maybe make a folder for it inside your Documents folder), and give it a different name.
     
  3. jackysaktilim

    jackysaktilim

    Joined:
    May 4, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    Hmm ok I will try it later, I will give the result later. Thanks for helping
     
  4. jackysaktilim

    jackysaktilim

    Joined:
    May 4, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    Mr. / Ms. JoeStrout, I have been try the same way as you suggest but it still didn't work, i tried to save it at my "Document/Unity Project", still the same result.

    soo what should i suppose to do?
     
  5. rasgarcollage

    rasgarcollage

    Joined:
    May 8, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    Same problem here. I have installed the latest version of Unity (for the first time) then create a 3d project, and when i try to open ir from the Unity Hub, the message is "project path does not exist" i would appreciate any help, thanks!
     
  6. JoeStrout

    JoeStrout

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    9,798
    Can you post a screen shot of the Unity Hub (showing the path you're trying to open), and the Finder (in column mode, showing the full path to the project)?

    I've never experienced this issue, but maybe we'll be able to spot some clue in the screenshots.
     
    Joe-Censored likes this.
  7. jackysaktilim

    jackysaktilim

    Joined:
    May 4, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    There are some of my screenshots, it's just my step-by-step making a new project. and when i want to search it from the Finder, it's just empty or my file just corrupted

    I don't sure about this, but maybe it's because my software's version that didn't required for using Unity
    when i want to open the Unity editor 2020.3.9f1 in my Finder, it said that i need to update my Software upto OS X 10.13 while mine is OS X 10.11

    and when i want to try update it from the appstore, it said that i can't update it upper version, so i get stucked at OS X 10.11 because of my Mac is an older version (MacBook Pro 2009)
     

    Attached Files:

  8. JoeStrout

    JoeStrout

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    9,798
    oh geez, yeah, on a 2009 MacBook Pro I would not recommend trying to use Unity 2020. Even on newer machines Unity 2020 runs like a pig, in my experience.

    I suggest Unity 2019 at the newest, but on that machine, you might have to go back even further.
     
    jackysaktilim likes this.
  9. Lurking-Ninja

    Lurking-Ninja

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    8,759
    The last Unity Editor supports 10.11 is 2018.4.
    You can check what OSX is supported by which Unity version (you can select Unity version in the top-left corner):
    https://docs.unity3d.com/2018.4/Documentation/Manual/system-requirements.html
     
    jackysaktilim and JoeStrout like this.
  10. LukasBonzzi

    LukasBonzzi

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    I have MacBook M1 2020 and the same problem..
     
  11. pochemu489

    pochemu489

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    did you solve the problem?
     
  12. pochemu489

    pochemu489

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    OOH I SOLVED THE PROBLEM
    (sorry for my English, Im Russian)
    Okey, so how to solve it. You have to open at the same time "Unity hub" and "Unity". It worked only on 2018.
     
  13. oluwadamilare12

    oluwadamilare12

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    My project is not solved
     
  14. denispallstropi

    denispallstropi

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    perhaps you have an older version of ox
     
  15. maxfalconmf

    maxfalconmf

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    Figured it out. I was having the same problem. The issue comes from the way mac treats programs. Just go to "Apple Logo" --> "System Preferences" --> "Security and Privacy" --> "Full Disk Access" and click on the little lock in the bottom left. Enter your password and then check the box for "Unity Hub". Should work after that. It did for me. Of course depending on your version of the OS you might have a somewhat different route to get to the specific permissions page, but that should point you in the right direction. I am using 11.4.
     
  16. maxfalconmf

    maxfalconmf

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    See my post from just a bit ago today
     
  17. maxfalconmf

    maxfalconmf

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    See my post from just a bit ago today
     
  18. SpacePan007

    SpacePan007

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    I have the exact same problem, but 'Full Disk Access' doesn't exist in my privacy folder. Is it still a permissions problem?
     
    Ekta-Mehta-D likes this.
  19. Ekta-Mehta-D

    Ekta-Mehta-D

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Posts:
    24
    His did you get any solution?