Search Unity

Project DK2² // Oculus - VR/AR

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by Frankster, Sep 9, 2015.

1. Frankster

Frankster

Maybe it's a dump question but i'm rather new to unity-development + oculus/vr ... The oculus-package gives me a default controller which is pretty easy to use. Just drop it to the scene and done ... beautiful vr :D Anyways .. i'm wondering if having 2 cams (because of stereo-3d) means that everything has to be calculated/rendered twice which would also mean in the end that i'll have to be super carefull with drawCalls, vertex-counts, camera-filters etc. So is like that that everything must be calculated/rendered twice or is this nonsense? I know this is actually a super basic questions but i was googling like crazy but neither unity-forums nor oculus-forums could help me so far. So thanks a lot in advance! (i can't use profiler cos i don't have pro)

2. bgolus

bgolus

"everything has to be calculated/rendered twice"

Yes and no. With the native VR support in Unity there are many things that are only calculated once, like real time shadow maps, visibility, and LODs. However everything does get rendered twice. There's a ton of work going on right now on the side of the graphics engine, graphics APIs, graphics drivers, and GPU hardware trying to figure out the best way to do stereo rendering in the most efficient way possible. The straight forward dumb method (what everyone was doing like 6 months ago) was just to have two cameras in the correct position and render everything twice as two back to back renders. More recently there's been work on being able to only have one draw call but still render from both eyes, perhaps at the same time. I think Unity is somewhere between that where a lot of the obvious things are being done once, but the draw calls are still doubled.