Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 beta is now available.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We're looking for insight from anyone who has experience with game testing to help us better Unity. Take our survey here. If chosen to participate you'll be entered into a sweepstake to win an Amazon gift card.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. On February 28th the Feedback website will shut down and be redirected to the Unity forums. See the full post for more information.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

ProGrids - keyboard hotkey to toggle snapping

Discussion in 'World Building' started by Xarbrough, Sep 11, 2018.

  1. Xarbrough

    Xarbrough

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    311
    In the current package version 3.0.3 there is no keyboard shortcut to enable and disable snapping. Would it be possible to add this as a configurable hotkey? I often like to switch between grid and no-grid.

    I can see two variants work: Either hitting e.g. the 'm'-key toggles the mode to enabled/disabled or by holding the key I can temporarily invert the mode (if snapping mode was enabled, snapping will be disabled while holding the key and if snapping mode was disabled, snapping will be enabled while holding the key).

    PS: Thanks for this great tool, I deeply enjoy using ProGrids!
     
  2. gabrielw_unity

    gabrielw_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Posts:
    417
    Hi! Actually, you should be able to hold "D" to disable the Grid, can you try this and let me know if it works? Thanks, glad you like the tools!
     
  3. Xarbrough

    Xarbrough

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    311
    Ah ok, thank you, that's something! I can press and hold D and then move things off grid. Would be perfect if I could change the keybinding. And a minor convenience issue is the fact, that I have to press D before I start dragging the object. In other applications, such as Maya, I can move an object on the grid and while moving, can disable the grid by holding m to make final small adjustments all in one go.
     
  4. gabrielw_unity

    gabrielw_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Posts:
    417
    Good point! Holding the key should "un-snap", that's standard in other tools yep.

    We should be able to open up key setting in the prefs, too :)
     
    Xarbrough likes this.
  5. TheDewey

    TheDewey

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Posts:
    26
    Also is there to change that shortcut, As It seems to override "control+d" for duplicate in the scene view. or is my version just weird?
     
    dejwifati likes this.
  6. gabrielw_unity

    gabrielw_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Posts:
    417
    Yep, working on a fix for that- sorry!
     
  7. dejwifati

    dejwifati

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    @gabrielw_unity: Thank you for working on this! Is there a status update on the fix?
     
  8. gabrielw_unity

    gabrielw_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Posts:
    417
    Sorry, slow going, focusing on PB 4.x - haven't gotten the fix in yet. Will bump that one up, it's really frustrating!
     
  9. Anthony0506

    Anthony0506

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Posts:
    39
    add axis independent snapping. so you can set one axis to .1 and one to .5, or whatever it is you need.

    a key to actually turn snapping on/off would be great, because since you haven't added independent snapping, people switch between unity snapping (hold control) and progrids snapping, and having to turn off progrids snapping manually eats up lots of time.
     
  10. AggressiveMastery

    AggressiveMastery

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Posts:
    89
    Hello....

    W-A-S-D keys are spoken for
    as scene navigation... Can you not use them, as it breaks scene navigation, when I enable grids? PLEASE. Or how can I rebind them to something besides move right (D) and move back(S).

    Otherwise, using progrids, I can only move forward and left (W and A keys) in the scene view, or have to act like its 1998 and use the arrow keys and lose the ability to straif sideways in the scene view. I'm trying to locate how to rebind these keys, to fix this problem without just not using progrids.

    https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/SceneViewNavigation.html
    Flythrough mode
    Use Flythrough mode to navigate the Scene View by flying around in first-person, similar to how you would navigate in many games.
    • Click and hold the right mouse button.
    • Move the view around using the mouse, the WASD keys to move left/right/forward/backward, and the Q and E keys to move up and down.
    • Hold down Shift to move faster.
    @gabrielw_unity
     
  11. AggressiveMastery

    AggressiveMastery

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Posts:
    89
    gabrielw_unity likes this.
  12. kelheor

    kelheor

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Posts:
    30
    Still can't duplicate mesh with Ctrl-D. The single press doesn't do anything, but if you press and move an object, you will get hundreds of duplicates in a couple of seconds. Can't use ProGrids because of that at this moment.
     
  13. pointcache

    pointcache

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Posts:
    500
    3.0.3 same problem, consumes "D" press, as a result cant duplicate anything in scene. Developers never duplicated a single object?

    Workaround is - Open ProGridsEditor.cs in the package, (disable read only on the file) and change
    Code (CSharp):
    1. const KeyCode k_TempDisableKey = KeyCode.D;
    to whatever
     
    BMayzak, wolfen231 and Danielmpm like this.
  14. r_chevallier

    r_chevallier

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Posts:
    19
    What is the status for the "CTRL-D" fix? I use to use this hotkey a lot.

    Thank you
     
  15. Anthony0506

    Anthony0506

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Posts:
    39
    where are you getting version 3 +? when i look it up in the asset store it says the current version is 2.5?

    is it packed in with probuilder now? it'd be nice to have progrids continue to be independent of probuilder for those of us who use external modeling programs.

    can we get a list of confirmed features for 4.0? axis independent snapping, ability to turn on and off snapping via button press... stuff like that?

    anyone know of a dirty way to quick change the sync with unity so that progrids syncs with unity snap and uses its increments, rather than forcing unity to snap at progrids increments? for independent snapping?
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2018
  16. Flurgle

    Flurgle

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Posts:
    329
    Thank you @pointcache !

    @gabrielw_unity What was the intention of progrids and ctr+d? Is there another way to duplicate? Also, nice work with the latest updates.
     
  17. pointcache

    pointcache

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Posts:
    500
    Preferences > Progrids > sync with unity (at least in 3.0.3

    We are getting the new version from the Package manager built into unity (at least in 2018.3) you should check Window > package manager
     
  18. Anthony0506

    Anthony0506

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Posts:
    39
    No, I was wondering if anyone knew a quick way to edit the Progrids code so that when you "sync with unity" it does the opposite of what it does now. I don't want it to change Unity's regular snap function as it does now, but change Progrids snap increments to match those set in Unity's snap preferences, as Unity's regular snap increments have individual snap increments for every axis.

    After rechecking the Package Manager, I didn't realize you had to click Advanced options and allow preview packages.

    seems like the they just use one single float called unitySnapUnit, rather than 3 three floats for the snap axis.

    PreferenceKeys.UnityMoveSnapX, ...Y, ...Z are the Unity snap float and Progrids just uses unitySnapUnit to reregister them all to a single value. seeing as how they don't even have it set up to use 3 different float values, i'm losing some hope they'll actually go back and rewrite that much code for it. I'm hoping Unity doesn't force intregration if they don't, as losing independent snapping would be super lame.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2018
  19. gabrielw_unity

    gabrielw_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Posts:
    417
    Hi! No worries, we'll have axis-independent snap one way or another, it's clearly an important feature for many.
     
    Anthony0506 likes this.
  20. Anthony0506

    Anthony0506

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Posts:
    39
    thanks. that'd be great. i found a workaround for now.

    for those wondering, keep progrids for the grid and just keep snapping off. https://answers.unity.com/questions/148812/is-there-a-toggle-for-snap-to-grid.html use the final answer in this, and just use regular unity snapping increments.

    the only problem is everytime you test play your game you have to open the autosnap window, as it turns off.