Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

    Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

    It's still possible to reply to existing private message conversations during the migration, but any new replies you post will be missing after the main migration is complete. We'll do our best to migrate these messages in a follow-up step.

    On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.


    Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

[ProGrids Bug] Snapping not working on ProBuilder Faces/Edges/Vertices

Discussion in 'World Building' started by chatrat12, May 4, 2018.

  1. chatrat12

    chatrat12

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Posts:
    122
    Decided to get back to work when I discovered another bug in ProGrids. Pretty much what the title says. Snapping still works in object mode. But if I select a face and move it around, no snapping.

    Unity Version 2018.1.0f2
    ProGrids Version 3.0.1 preview
    ProBuilder Version 3.0.6

    Edit:
    I reverted ProGrids to stock. I deleted the package completely from my hard drive and reinstalled it just to rule out my previous bug fix causing any issues.
     
    dythervin likes this.
  2. chatrat12

    chatrat12

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Posts:
    122
    After reviewing the code, it look like ProBuilder handles the implementation for snapping and just queries ProGrids for the current settings.Guessing it's a ProBuilder bug. That's if you guys are even able to reproduce the bug.
     
  3. SirDoombox

    SirDoombox

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    I have the exact same problem, even in a clean project with nothing but Grids and Builder
     
  4. chatrat12

    chatrat12

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Posts:
    122
    Glad it isn't just me. ProBuilder and ProGrids are in pretty rough shape right now. I've given up on using the latest versions. God speed to Karl and Gabriel. I'm sure they are working as fast as they can and they probably have a ton on their plate. I'm hoping we'll get a round of fixes this coming week.
     
  5. halgorithm

    halgorithm

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Posts:
    22
    I'm also experiencing this bug when using ProBuilder 3.0.6 and ProGrids 3.0.1-preview on an empty project + scene in Unity 2018.2.0b2. ProGrids' snapping is enabled and works when translating objects, but not when doing anything with vertices. The "push to grid" button also exhibits this behavior.
     
  6. kaarrrllll

    kaarrrllll

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Posts:
    552
    Thanks for the reports, a fix is in the pipes.
     
  7. halgorithm

    halgorithm

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Posts:
    22
    Thanks for the quick response!
     
  8. chatrat12

    chatrat12

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Posts:
    122
    How are the fixes coming? Any ETAs on when they will drop?
     
  9. kaarrrllll

    kaarrrllll

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Posts:
    552
    ProBuilder 3.0.8 was pushed to Package Manager this morning, which includes the fix for ProGrids 3.0.1 compatibility.
     
  10. luizfelipemb

    luizfelipemb

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    try reseting the position
     
  11. plaguedog

    plaguedog

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I had this problem today, which seemed to be associated with a particular game object (cube) and its duplicate. Deleting and recreating the objects solved the problem.
     
  12. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    it still doesnt work for me