Search Unity

  1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Progressive Lightmapper Problem

Discussion in 'Graphics Experimental Previews' started by NestorAlgieri, Aug 12, 2017.

  1. NestorAlgieri

    NestorAlgieri

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Posts:
    299
    Hello.

    When using enlighted to bake, this behavior is correct. However when switched to Progressive, it's wrong.

    Test:
    In a scene with
    - a Static Plain
    - a Static Cylinder
    - a Dynamic Cube
    - a Directional Light(mix mode)
    - Light probe groups.
    - Use either mobile-diffuse, or standard shader, same behavior.

    Bake with Enlighten. GOOD!

    Result:
    - Dynamic Cube moves around and casts shadows in real time,
    - Dynamic Cube dynamically lit with probes only, the directional light has no effect.
    - Static Plain is lightmapped baked only, the directional light has no effect.
    - Static Cylinder casts only baked shadow.


    Bake with progressive. BAD!

    Result:
    - Dynamic Cube moves around and casts shadows in real time,
    - Dynamic Cube dynamically lit with probes,

    - Dynamic Cube is extra lit by directional light, BAD!
    - Static plain is lightmapped baked
    - Static plain is extra lit by directional light, BAD!
    - Static Cylinder casts baked shadow
    - Static Cylinder also casts Real-time shadow overlapping baked shadow, BAD!

    Question:

    Is this behavior intentional for Progressive Lightmapper?

    Thx
     
    Louis-N-D likes this.
  2. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    11,983
    Mixed mode isn't wokring with progressive yet.
     
  3. Louis-N-D

    Louis-N-D

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Posts:
    224
    Any solution to this yet? It's still not working in 2017.2 i_i
    Maybe there's some new setting I'm not aware of.
     
  4. NestorAlgieri

    NestorAlgieri

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Posts:
    299
    I just stuck with using Unity 5 for now.