Search Unity

Programming a simple 2D grid + basic vertice

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by farmer12, Nov 20, 2018.

1. farmer12

farmer12

Coming from C# and XNA, I am intrigued by the cross platform capabilities of Unity. I am very new to Unity though, so I need to learn lots. Like to start by programming a simple 2D grid (c#) and as a 2nd step create a basic triangle. Can someone help? THANKS!

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

Those are not basic steps in Unity. Basic in Unity means using either the built-in primitives (cube, sphere, cylinder, etc.), or a 3D model probably created in some other editor like Blender. You plop that into a scene and you can, if you wish/need, write code to move it around, animate it, make it react to control inputs, etc.

What you're talking about is procedural mesh generation, and while you certainly can do it in Unity, most games have no need to, and it's an advanced topic.

I recommend you spend a week or two going through the tutorials, otherwise you will waste a lot of time with these sorts of false assumptions that you don't even realize you're making.

3. farmer12

farmer12

Thanks JoeStrout! I have already started on the tutorials and now I know why I could not find a simple way to do this ;-). Would you mind in getting me some short tips on how to get this done ?
    THANKS!!!

4. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

1. Make a model of a triangle in Blender.
    2. Export this model to FBX, and put the file somewhere under Assets in your Unity project.
    3. In Unity, drag the triangle model to the scene.

The procedure for a grid is similar.

Bill_Martini likes this.
  5. farmer12

farmer12

Thanks, I will "play" with that but is certainly not the approach I was hoping for. Since the triangle will become thousands of triangle forming a polygon with different sizes etc., I would really like to do this without any model. Same issue for the grid.

6. JoeStrout

JoeStrout