Search Unity

Program a shader that only displays the visible edges

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by elhoblerino, Nov 7, 2019.

1. elhoblerino

elhoblerino

Hey everybody,

for a current project I have to program a shader that only returns the visible edges of the object as a wireframe model. My idea was to create a wireframe model of my object and then delete all edges between triangles with the same normal vector. Since I'm a total beginner in programming, I don't know if this is the right approach or how to implement it in C#.

I am grateful for any help

2. bgolus

bgolus

There are a lot of threads on edge finding / wireframe rendering in the forums. The most common solution is to use the camera depth normal texture to do edge finding as a post process, but that doesn't work if you want your objects to be transparent, which it sounds like you want.

The next solution is usually one that highlights all triangles edges using barycentric coordinates, either using a geometry shader to extract them or prebaking data into vertex colors / uvs, but again that doesn't really help you.

The solution I came up with for a game I worked on was to generate a texture that was a SDF to the closest edge and using that to be able to render anti-aliased wire frames. The way that worked was the meshes were already auto-UVed based on a low surface angle threshold with a constant-texel size. I exported those UV sheets into Photoshop and applied an inner & outer glow layer style and then used that texture in game. It'd be possible to do something similar inside of Unity if you can't pre-baked the content, but it might be slow.