Search Unity

Profiling a Windows Store (Phone 8.1) game with Unity 5.6 or Visual Studio

Discussion in 'Windows' started by PixelSquad, Feb 8, 2018.

  1. PixelSquad

    PixelSquad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Posts:
    111
    Hi again everyone.

    I'm having a hard time connecting the Unity 5.6.x profiler to a game running on Windows Phone 8.1

    Setup:

    - My PC and my phone are both in the same subnet of the network.
    - I can ping my WP8.1 phone from my PC

    Screen Shot 2018-02-08 at 12.23.29.png

    (I also tried it with Unity C# projects and Copy References)

    Also, I checked the following as I read it somewhere in the documentation:

    upload_2018-2-8_12-46-58.png

    The WP8 device never appears in my profiler window, and if I input the IP address of the phone, I see the following:

    upload_2018-2-8_12-47-50.png

    It never connects.

    I also tried the Visual Studio Profiler. It looks like it works, but it reads "[External Code]", and just the Assembly name instead of the full function names.

    upload_2018-2-8_12-48-56.png

    Was anyone able do run any of these two profilers on WP8.1 with Unity 5.6?
     
  2. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6,443
    You need InternetClient and InternetClientServer capabilities too.
     
  3. PixelSquad

    PixelSquad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Posts:
    111
    Hi Tautvydas. Thanks for your help. I tried it with those two flags on as well now, and no luck.

    Do you know if I could be missing anything else?
     
  4. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6,443
    Did you make sure those capabilities actually end up in the manifest? We don't overwrite them if you build Unity project on top of an existing VS project.
     
  5. PixelSquad

    PixelSquad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Posts:
    111
    I had read that in the documentation, and deleted the entire VS project before building.

    I noticed however that not all of the capabilities seem to be available on the manifest. Do you think this is where the problem could be? Here's a screenshot of what's available:

    Screen Shot 2018-02-12 at 12.12.34.png
     
  6. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6,443
    I'm not sure. Did you try connecting to phone IP directly from the editor, rather than waiting for it to appear in the list?
     
  7. PixelSquad

    PixelSquad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Posts:
    111
    I did...
     
  8. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6,443
    Last blind guess: try turning off your firewall?
     
  9. PixelSquad

    PixelSquad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Posts:
    111
    No luck :(