Search Unity

Profiler: More info on the "GameObjects in Scene" count?

Discussion in 'Testing & Automation' started by Domarius, Feb 8, 2022.

1. Domarius

Domarius

In the Profiler, under Memory, the count for "GameObjects in Scene", how is this value being obtained and can I get it myself in script?

And is there a way I can get more information on what these objects might be and where they are?

UPDATE: More important question! Why does this value (and other values in this list) switch between 2 different values depending on if the Unity window has focus or the Profiler window has focus??

upload_2022-2-8_13-32-53.png

I'm a contractor that's been brought into a project to help optimse the game, and I noticed this value is going up, and up, and up, and never stops.

I'm still experimenting, disabling parts of the code and re-enabling, to find out what might be causing this value to increase. They have a pooling system that appears to be working, entities are being reused, but this count still goes up every time something new happens in the game.

Last edited: Feb 8, 2022
  2. MartinTilo

MartinTilo

Unity Technologies

Hello

For "GameObjects in Scene" via
    UnityEngine.GetObjects<GameObject>().Length

For "Total Objects in Scene" via
    UnityEngine.GetObjects<GameObject>().Length + UnityEngine.GetObjects<Component>().Length

and "Assets" via
    UnityEngine.GetObjects<Object>().Length - (UnityEngine.GetObjects<GameObject>().Length + UnityEngine.GetObjects<Component>().Length)

(... ok, that might be a minor approximation only but, close enough in most instances)

In 2020.3 or newer, you could also use the ProfilerRecorder API and the ProfilerCounter names listed on the Memory Profiler Module documentation page to get these stats. They are also explained there.