Search Unity

Professional programmers -- how many hours of good work do you get done each day?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BIGTIMEMASTER, Dec 14, 2018.

1. BIGTIMEMASTER

BIGTIMEMASTER

I'm a learning 3d artist, and this work is the first I've ever had that is indoors and not physically involved. I've been at it for just over a year now.

Some days, especially when I hit or am near a milestone in a project, I can easily work eight hours or more, no sweat. Sometimes that ccrazy energy last for several highly productive days.

But a lot of days, especially when the work is tedious or it's a long way to the next milestone, I am really only good for like 4-6 hours of legit work, and the remainder of an 8 hour day I am still productive but like, only 25%. In those remaining hours I'm no good for decision making, hard figuring, organizing -- just mindless work and I'm prone to distractions. (That's when you see me here)

Is this normal? At your day job as a programmer or any type of computer work, do you routinely hammer out eight hours of solid work five days a week? Reason I ask is because the ho-hum days really irk me. Make me feel like a lazy bum. Besides coffee and exercise breaks, are there any tips/tricks to keep the brain focused those extra hours? Or is it really too much to ask? I suppose a big part of the difficulty is the solitude, little feedback, and so on. Probably at a day job you have meetings and people stopping by, that sort of thing helps.

2. Xype

Xype

You have never heard the joke about programmers goofing off and the boss comes in and they just say "compiling" it is more true than you can possibly believe lol.

Working from home is a challenge in itself. If you are that productive working from home you are doing better than most.