Search Unity

Prod Cost Savings on Cinemachine

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by ricocamus, Dec 15, 2018.

1. ricocamus

ricocamus

Newbie here trying to justify adoption of Unity and Cinemachine where I work. I was wondering if any of the experienced Cinemachine users have some ballpark estimates on time / cost savings by adopting this for video production. My focus is less on game development and more on video production.

Any help or anecdotal experience with using Cinemachine would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

2. nathanjams

nathanjams

From my understanding Cinemachine was originally designed more for film type work.

We've def. found it to be more suited to our film based work than actual game play. I'm not saying that the game play elements lack in any way, just that the suite of tools seem to be more developed in regards to film type work.

Check out the demos and examples. The making of ADAM videos show a lot of the capabilities when coupled with Timeline.

I'm pretty sure that you won't regret switching over to Cinemachine. Are you switching game engines as well? If so, that is a much different question.

ricocamus likes this.
  3. ricocamus

ricocamus

Thanks very much!

Can attribute a cost reduction to the use of Cinemachine in your film productions?

Not really a game developer, but looking at Cinemachine as a way of reducing VFX costs and improving turn around time.

Thanks,

4. nathanjams

nathanjams

Can’t say honestly as we only started to do film type work since we started using Cinemachine.

There are a lot of “smart” tools in the pack that reduce a great amount set up time.

Have you watched the demos? Are you farmilliar with Unity? I did find cinemachine to be a bit of a paradigm shift in regards to camera work in Unity but once I got my head around it it became very logical and easy to use.

Nathan

5. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

IMHO for game context: