Search Unity

Procedurally generated tile map levels?

Discussion in '2D' started by awbevier, Dec 5, 2013.

1. awbevier

awbevier

What is the best approach to take if I want to procedurally generate tile map levels for my game?

Should I create a prefab for each tile type and then instantiate each prefab during my generation algorithm, or is there a way to combine all of the tile sprites into a single image and put that image on one single game object?

If I use one gameobject per tile then I could end up with hundreds and hundreds of game objects which seems like it wouldn't be efficient.

2. charl13dontsurf

charl13dontsurf

Hey,

I am interested if someone can respond to this. I'm pretty new to working with these tools. I wanted something to do some prototyping so I started with construct 2, then game maker but I found that actually coding in C# makes a lot more sense than navigating through the clicking/scripting in those other tools.

So my rough start was just to get a map laid out. I have a prefab sprite with some scripts and then have a game object that is dedicated to the stuff around generating my map. Basically it instantiates the prefab in a grid and the start on each clone/instance of the prefab loads up the properties of each tile (so the sprite image, calls to the tile object that has all the meta data and such). Let's call it 32x18 instances of that prefab.

However, as you say - if you wanted to make a large map using this type of technique you end up with waaay too many objects.