Search Unity

Procedural World Generation Tips/Advice for loading a Voxel type level

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Abnegation, Apr 11, 2015.

1. Abnegation

Abnegation

Hi there Unity3D. I'm a student working on my FYP, and I decided to tackle a bit more than I set out to. As this isn't intended to be an "original" project or IP, I decided to attempt a Minecraft clone in the hopes to bring my Unity knowledge past what it is.

As of now, I have procedural world generation created, the ability to place blocks, mine them (and pick up the mined blocks), a basic inventory with GUI and block selection, generated trees (though buggy still), and some other features. However, the biggest problem is performance.

I have researched extensively into greedy meshing and occluding unseen cube sides, however it goes slightly over my head. What I need help with is advice on how to better optimise my engine upon world generation. I followed tutorials and open source code for my world generation since I'm completely new to it, so I'll add the code below.

So some of the things I have tried are:
    • Occluding blocks that aren't seen using a basic culling script [link]
    • Reducing render distance of my chunk (however I really want to raise it)
    • Reducing FOV
    • Optimizing textures and cubes (using less quaded cubes, in place for cube primitives)
    • Locking frame rate
    • Some other minor improvements
    What I need help with is:
    • Potentially converting the generated cubed world into a mesh (greedy meshing)
    • Allowing the user to still mine the individual elements once the mesh is rendered
    • Hiding unseen faces
    • Any other possible performance tips when it comes to creating a voxel engine.
    The scirpts used to create the world generation are:

[CubeGeneration.cs]

[Chunk.cs]

[PerlinNoise.cs]