Search Unity

  1. Improved Prefab workflow (includes Nested Prefabs!), 2D isometric Tilemap and more! Get the 2018.3 Beta now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Procedural Sky

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by BogdanGochev, Oct 30, 2016.

  1. BogdanGochev

    BogdanGochev

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Posts:
    50
    Procedural Sky lets you create beautiful and colorful skies very easy. Just pick the colors of the sky elements (horizon, sun, halos) and let the the procedural sky shader do all the heavy lifting.

    - Artist oriented, no need for complicated configurations. Just pick the colors of the different sky elements like you are painting the sky.
    - Optimized and very fast performance.
    - Runs on mobile and desktop as it only requires Shader Model 2.
    - A simple MonoBehaviour scripts that control the position of the sun. It can be added on any light or other plain GameObject.
    - Realtime Preview inside Editor.
    - Different sky examples.

    Available on the Asset Store

    Screen Shot 2016-10-30 at 3.48.39 PM.png Screen Shot 2016-10-30 at 3.16.48 PM.png Screen Shot 2016-10-09 at 7.06.16 PM.png Screen Shot 2016-10-09 at 7.04.52 PM.png

    Note: This asset doesn't include any models
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2017
  2. dearamy

    dearamy

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Posts:
    67
    No moon or stars?
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2017
  3. BogdanGochev

    BogdanGochev

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Posts:
    50
    Currently no, but that is a very good suggestion. I will investigate it and get back to you.
     
  4. Thickshake

    Thickshake

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    I bought it and i'm really liking what I see so far.. But the 'Bottom Color' doesn't seem to change, it's just solid black below the horizon. Am I doing something wrong?
     
  5. BogdanGochev

    BogdanGochev

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Posts:
    50
    Thank for you interest in the asset.
    It very strange that the bottom color stays solid black, that is definitely not right. I don't think you are doing something wrong as there aren't that many options that can cause this type of error. Sounds more like either integration issue with the asset or something else completely. What version of Unity do you use ? Maybe the easies way is for you to send me the scene on my email and I will check it out.
     
  6. Amadeu

    Amadeu

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    Here another one with the same issue regarding the bottom part, the sun is also giving me some weird artifacts.
    I'm using Unity 5.6 and also a couple of camera components: beautify and hbao.

    Hoping that you're working on it because this shader can be a GREAT artistic tool.
     
  7. BogdanGochev

    BogdanGochev

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Posts:
    50
    Hi Amadeu,
    I'm very much supporting this asset as I too believe that it can save a lot of time and effort in creating nice skies.
    The issue that you are experiencing is something that i definitely want to resolve, but the last person that had it didn't provide me any more details and i couldn't reproduce the error.
    Could you please send me on my email a scene with these issue so I can reproduce it and resolve it.
    Also which operating system you are using ?

    Here is a screenshot of me running the asset on Unity 5.6 Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 11.29.58 PM.png
     
  8. candycat

    candycat

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Posts:
    29
    I just purchased the asset and also found the bottom color problem. After digging into the shader, I found that this can be fixed by replacing the code in ProceduralSky.shader:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. inline fixed4 sky_gradient(v2f i) {
    2. ...
    3. fixed topBlending = pow(y_distance, _topSkyColorBlending);
    4. fixed bottomBlending = pow(y_distance, _bottomSkyColorBlending);
    5. ...
    6. }
    to

    Code (CSharp):
    1. fixed topBlending = pow(abs(y_distance), _topSkyColorBlending);
    2. fixed bottomBlending = pow(abs(y_distance), _bottomSkyColorBlending);
    And the bottom color just works.
     
  9. BogdanGochev

    BogdanGochev

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Posts:
    50
    Thank you a lot @candycat !!!
    I will test it a bit and update the asset with that fix. If you want, you can PM your name or nick and I will include you in a text file as a contributor into the asset :)
     
  10. candycat

    candycat

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Posts:
    29
    @BogdanGochev Wow, you can include my nick name candycat. It's kind of you ;)

    I'm just wondering, are you inspired by the work of Firewatch they presented in GDC? I found this asset when I was searching a similar procedural skybox solution of Firewatch. Great work and neat code by the way.
     
  11. BogdanGochev

    BogdanGochev

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Posts:
    50
    Hi, I have a rule that everybody that contributes code or patch fixes to any of my assets gets a contributor mention. It's my way to show my gratitude towards these people :)

    About Firewatch, you are totally right. I too saw that GDC presentation and was very impressed by the simplicity and at the same time the utility of their tools. So I decided to "clone" their sky system. Still, I have some things missing (like clouds and stars), but the basic is there. Also the clouds will be very complicated/heavy to do procedurally, majority of assets, and I think Firewatch as well, just overlay textures.
     
  12. Thickshake

    Thickshake

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    Hey glad this issue is solved. Sorry I didnt reply BogdanGochev , it's weird, I bookmarked this thread and returned to it like days later but didn't see your reply :/ My browser must have cached and not updated it or something, cos I would have tried to help out. Im running 5.5. Will let you know if it's solved on this version.
     
  13. BogdanGochev

    BogdanGochev

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Posts:
    50
    Hi @Thickshake, most probably is the cache. Try with your browser "incognito/private" mode, as it never stores cache and you always get the latest version.
    In any case, please, let me know if it's solved for you. The asset with candycat fix was just approved by the Unity Asset Store (version 1.0.1), so you should update before trying it out.
     
  14. Thickshake

    Thickshake

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    All good in 5.5 ;) Very nice blending!
     
  15. BogdanGochev

    BogdanGochev

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Posts:
    50
    Thank you @Thickshake for getting back. Happy is working fine now.