Search Unity

Procedural generation with minerals and mining with caves(need guidance)

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Capnarchie, Jan 3, 2017.

1. Capnarchie

Capnarchie

Hello, i would like to make a terrain system like space engineers or astroneer(without the low poly count).
    But i honestly have no clue how to make such a system, I would like to see in my system; mining terrain like in space engineers so im guessing it has to do something with marching cubes. but the biggest problem might be generating the resources in the terrain/on the terrain so i could have them as materials to craft just like minecraft and have caves. I have tested cubiquity and thats pretty much what i expect from the mining but it didnt procedurally generate and it was without materials. I'm not a beginner coder im somewhere inbetween intermediate in my opinion.

I am very grateful for any guidance/assistance thanks.

EDIT: and is there a way possible to make it into a planet aswell? i think unity doesnt support that though just a question.

Last edited: Jan 3, 2017
  2. gorbit99

gorbit99

You can generate a terrain with either perlin noise or some other algorithm
    And hey, it just so happens, that I wrote a tutorial few days ago, that creates a Diamond-Square Algorithm, that works well with terrain generation (Shameless self-advertising)
    Here's the link https://gorbitsprojects.wordpress.com/2016/12/28/diamond-square-algorithm/#more-4

The most common way of dealing with ores and caves (minecraft does it as well) is having a 3d perlin noise (Unity doesn't support that, so you have to download a library yourself. I would suggest a C# implementation of LibNoise, that works great and it has so many different noisetypes, that you can experiment with as well) After this you check the values of this noise and if it's let's say below 0.2 you generate a cave or if it's between 0.5 and 0.6 that's copper, and so on.