Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Ever participated in one our Game Jams? Want pointers on your project? Our Evangelists will be available on Friday to give feedback. Come share your games with us!
    Dismiss Notice

procedural character generation

Discussion in 'Works In Progress' started by FernandoRibeiro, Oct 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362
  2. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362
    I understand UMA framework will only succeed if it´s free and accessible for everyone. This way it´s easier for other developers creating content and improving it :)
    There´s nothing wrong on selling any content for UMA on asset store at all =) It´s meant to work like this.
     
  3. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362
    Yay! Thanks to @ecurtz help, we have optional forearm twist on next release =D I was having a hard time sampling the correct values from hand rotation. @ecurtz gave me amazing feedback =D
     
  4. Tesla-Coil

    Tesla-Coil

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Posts:
    171
    Come on! Throw the dice... :roll:
     
  5. temo_koki

    temo_koki

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Posts:
    309
    Here is another one, now with realistic look :)

    $TK UMA realistic.jpg
     
  6. goat

    goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Posts:
    5,177
    Yes, nice. The type of cartoon 1/2 between Sunday comics and realism works well in UMA.
     
  7. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362
    =D
     
  8. temo_koki

    temo_koki

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Posts:
    309
  9. drcool

    drcool

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    14
    You are amazing man
     
  10. temo_koki

    temo_koki

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Posts:
    309
    This belongs me? :rolleyes: if yes then thanks for kind words ;) :)
     
  11. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362
  12. Leslie-Young

    Leslie-Young

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,053
    Looks great, downloading 1.0.0.6b :D
     
  13. Tesla-Coil

    Tesla-Coil

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Posts:
    171
    Great call from a great man!
    Using Facebook and our game forum to spread out the message.

    Hope we can spawn some extra people for feedback!
     
  14. MagicFrame

    MagicFrame

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Posts:
    42
    congratulations on your incredible work and effort to bring this tool to all of us. I would like to ask you a question,

    1. - It is possible to upload my own models? Or I can only work with models that brings UMA.

    Two. - I am making a game in which the characterization of characters is essential, you may upload my own clothes, models and hairstyles?

    regards
     
  15. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362
    1 -> Yes, you can use your own base mesh, but the benefit working with UMA standard base meshes is that all content you create can be shared or sold at Asset Store, and you´re able to buy extra content too.

    2 -> For sure, thats what UMA does best :) The difference with UMA is that you create the cloth just once, and it adapts to all avatars, even with very difference body shape.
     
  16. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362
    Hey!
    I´ve seen on facebook! Thanks a lot : )))
     
  17. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362
    Hi there guys!
    Some changes on project, available as soon 1.0.0.7b is out ;)

    - Now there´s an optional choice to automatically reduce overlays if they don´t fit atlas.
    - Changed atlas algorithm from RectBottomLeftRule to RectBestShortSideFit, as it gives better results in junction with automatic atlas crop.
    - AtlasCrop is now optional
     
  18. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362
    A list of all bugs that have been corrected so far :)

    Fixed
    1.0.0.0b - Atlas is not optimized and might not bring most efficient solution.
    1.0.0.0b - White border on female hair 02 without using atlas sharing will be handled with a proper alpha channel. (Unity 4.2 Alpha is transparency)
    1.0.0.0b - overlay rect generates different behavion on Indie and PRO. Until then, overlays might need to keep the same size as base textures.
    1.0.0.0b - Mixing slots that uses different shaders mess with UV calculation. Until correcting this, it´s recommended to add all slots sharing the same shader in sequence.
    1.0.0.0b - UMA serialization will be rewritten considering the adjusts included and new features. Any multiplayer/mmo dev planning sharing data between client and server, please keep an eye on umaPack() that will be included.
    1.0.0.0b - UMA still only works when the game is running and resulting UMA still can´t saved. This will be handled together with serialization.
    1.0.0.1b - Mixing slots that uses different shaders is not available on this version.
    1.0.0.1b - Generating avatars requite atlas creation, without creating atlas, we have an material ordering issue.
    1.0.0.1b - As consequence of including extra bones, UMA creation requires extra processing. This step will receive further optimization.
    1.0.0.1b - Importing project files from pack leads to reloading assets and losing seams removal step. This will be handled creating a new resulting skinnedMesh instead of referencing to existing one.(Working on duplicated skinnedMesh)
    1.0.0.4b - Memoryleak on RenderTextures.
    1.0.0.4b - UMA serialization won´t pack channelMask and channelAdditiveMask in this version;
    1.0.0.4b - Small value changes on atlas textures;
     
  19. mr_Necturus

    mr_Necturus

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,956
    Hey guys.

    I think it will be nice tool which many Unity developers love to have. Advantages to use it are obvious.

    However here is things I thought about:

    1. So far all modifications of basic avatar body looks like clones of same guy just less beautiful. Is it possible to make from his face something like Fernando's face or Obama face or anything else like face?

    2. Is this development will be able support clothes and armor parts which is not much body topology? Like cloaks, skirts, plate armor which need special rigging and skinning?
     
  20. GXMark

    GXMark

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    425
    I'm currently working on a relatively large RPG style social media game and have been looking for a good avatar solution for ages. I have a list of questions which if you could give the community here some feedback on would be much appreciated.

    1. What will be your main benefits over using DAZ Characters such as the Geneses Mesh and Clothing. Daz3D offer a game license which enables its avatar mesh and original DAZ clothing content to be used for around a 500 dollar license. The last time i looked on the DAZ marketplace there was an expanding 2000 item content which could be used.

    2. Chris West at Megafiers has done some amazing stuff on morphing and cloth wrapping around skin in game for DAZ studio characters. I noticed how you are using atlas to optimise textures for avatar skins and clothing. Are you supporting mesh based clothing and if so, do you have a mesh based wrapping system to stop Poke Through issues which is a major concern with avatar clothing in RPG?

    3. How do you hope to compete with the range of avatar clothing and the quality of it to support higher end games. Clothing and props for avatars are best supported from a community of artists which are well adapted in certain software and approaches. How will you ensure that the price of these items will be managed for affordable usage. Will some study and comparison against say mixamo animations and their model be attempted in the future?

    4. Will there be any need to support Maya and Max plugins later on for usage with Apex dynamic clothing support? There was some presentation done a few years ago with nvidia and unity stating they were working together to bring this technology to unity game engine. I do believe that UMA could really benefit from getting involved from the ground up on this big topic. Do you have any information regarding unity plans to support you on this?
     
  21. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362
    1 -> Yes, this is quite possible :) As you may notice, right now we just have two normal maps for heads, with extra normal and diffuse textures, you can reach a huge variety of faces.
    2 -> Yep! But it requires extra rigging/skinning knowledge. I´ve already seen from plate armor to wings being integrated =)

    Thanks for your questions : )))
     
  22. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362
    1 2 -> you might want to read UMA documentation. It makes not much sense convincing you what is the best option for your project, as I would have a biased judgement. http://fernandoribeirogames.wix.com/umabeta

    3 -> That´s the good part :) UMA is free and open! We expect many artists creating content for UMA in the following weeks. Content will be sold at Unity Asset Store.

    4 -> "Do you have any information regarding unity plans to support you on this?" It´s usually the opposite, I try updating UMA to use new features and resources as soon they are available. Unity Asset Store sponsored this project to reach this actual stage, I´ll be able to work on further versions on my free time.

    It might be a good idea taking a look on the video tutorials I´ve recorded so far, there are already more than 3 hours. It will provide extra information for you. Cheers! =D
     
  23. facefx

    facefx

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Posts:
    116
    This is awesome. I'm going to pull together a demo and post on our website. Nice work!

    One problem I'm having is trying to do a web player build with 1.0.0.6b. It complains about the UnityEditorInternal.InternalEditorUtility.HasPro() function call in UMAGenerator. Once I comment that out and try building, I'm getting an out-of-memory crash in the Unity Editor during the build. I have a decent development machine, and I'm not running anything else, but it still could be machine specific. Anyone else have this issue? Specifically, this is what I'm doing:

    1) New Project
    2) Import Package (Select the 0.6 Beta package, then import everything)
    3) Load the UMAProject\Scenes\Scene01
    4) Comment out the UnityEditorInternal.InternalEditorUtility.HasPro() if block (I have Pro...otherwise, you'd want to call usePRO = false;
    5) Build Run the Web Player build....get crash

    The crash dialog pops up telling me it is an out of memory error. Let me know if more info would be helpful!
     
  24. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362
    Hi there =D
    Great to know you guys are still planning integrating FaceFx and UMA!

    I also get UnityEditorInternal.InternalEditorUtility.HasPro() when building the webplayer, I might include some explanation on documentation to handle that :)
    I didn´t managed to reproduce the memory error though. The crash is while generating the build or after it´s opening the webplayer?
    Are you guys using Unity 4.2?
    Thanks a lot for the feedback!

    Btw, I would love to get some feedback on facial rig and skin, you guys are the right people for those : ))) Did you missed any bone to handle facial expressions, or noticed any skinning adjusts that should be handled?

    Cheers!
     
  25. facefx

    facefx

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Posts:
    116
    I guess it is machine specific then. I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit on a Macbok air. Happens every time for me building the web player (but not the standalone windows executable). It happens during the build, in the "Building Assets for Sceene 0" step. Here is a screenshot
    $outOfMemoryUma.png

    Yes.


    The last time I looked at the rig, I thought it was the best rig I've ever seen :) The adjust bones in particular will make getting animation data from one character onto another one very easy. I will definitely let you know if I have any additional feedback, but from what I've seen, it looks pretty awesome from the facial animation side. I'm really looking forward to making a demo that uses the system.
     
  26. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362
    Hey! Thanks a lot for the compliment! =D
    I guess it is machine specific then -> I´m sorry I didn´t managed to get the same here! :( I´ll keep an eye if the same is happening to other developers!
    I might recommend trying to compress the UMA_Assets textures to handle that, but without having the same situation here, it´s hard to test.
     
  27. mr_Necturus

    mr_Necturus

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,956
    Thank you for answer Fernando.
    It will be nice to see more updates in images gallery.

    I wish you good luck with this project!
     
  28. cookimage

    cookimage

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Posts:
    727
    Hi all, here is a quick clip showing our Integration of the UMA system into our MMO Kit we are developing called Atavism Online, you can find more information on this at our forum post MMO Construction Kit. This took us around 3 days to integrate, and it is fully integrated into the MMO world so other players will see your character the same way you have made it.

    [video=youtube_share;YrBHtOrawUA]http://youtu.be/YrBHtOrawUA
     
  29. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362
    Hi there!
    Super happy to see the results so far =D
    Really curious to see those in action! Congrats!!!
     
  30. Eqric

    Eqric

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Posts:
    51
    I got this error when i create a new avatar using UMACrowd:
    This happens all the time when i create a new avatar.


    Also when i change the "Atlas Resolution Scale" to 1 - i get the following error:


    Note: I am using the an unmodified version of the demo scene you provided.
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2013
  31. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362
    Hi there Eqric!

    Let's start with the standard questions: You're working on a clean project, and with Unity 4.2?

    The second error is expected as an 2048x2048 atlas won't be able to handle all High res textures. On 1.0.0.7 (not yet available) , I've already included an optional way to reduce textures if they don't fit atlas resolution. I would recommend taking a look on UMA latest documentation, if you haven't already.
     
  32. Eqric

    Eqric

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Posts:
    51
    Oh i restarted Unity and now it works without error. :oops:
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2013
  33. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362
    I would recommend starting with a clean project, so you can be sure everything is working on UMA side.
    Having a new project, and importing the pack and with default values, you shouldn't get any errors at all.
    You're working on Unity Indie or PRO?

    This video is old, but still useful
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ztkEpnyEAOQ&list=PLdZIOhsqZ1j7Q3nHM_7WUxnt7fur0kQbp&index=2
     
  34. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362

    Yay! =D Ok then
     
  35. THEThomas

    THEThomas

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    awesome. Maybe i missed it, but is this going to available on the unity store? is it already?
     
  36. THEThomas

    THEThomas

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    Im a noob! found it!! thanks
     
  37. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362
    Yay! Hehehe ok =D
    Welcome to Unity Forum!!!
     
  38. yuewahchan

    yuewahchan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Posts:
    309
    I have downloaded UMA 1.0.0.6b and imported to a clean project of unity3d 3.4.2, then try to build and deploy to iPad 1 and some android device, all crashed after unity3d logo. The following is an iPad crash log.

    Incident Identifier: F5E6019B-90E4-4E32-AC90-6CA4D6E1F0BF
    CrashReporter Key: 9999c6f29297678de05a764408027189e23c955e
    Hardware Model: iPad1,1
    OS Version: iPhone OS 5.1.1 (9B206)
    Kernel Version: Darwin Kernel Version 11.0.0: Sun Apr 8 21:51:26 PDT 2012; root:xnu-1878.11.10~1/RELEASE_ARM_S5L8930X
    Date: 2013-09-03 00:26:05 +0800
    Time since snapshot: 76 ms


    Free pages: 581
    Active pages: 1579
    Inactive pages: 986
    Throttled pages: 46020
    Purgeable pages: 0
    Wired pages: 13851
    Largest process: TestUMA


    Processes
    Name UUID Count resident pages
    networkd <80ba40030462385085b5b7e47601d48d> 137
    TestUMA <1af97350e9df3f1387c2c52d9bd7f975> 31440 (jettisoned) (active)
    lockbot <a00685c2b5de3a16a1e68868fcbaaadb> 93
    notification_pro <373a488638c436b48ef0801b212593c4> 101
    syslog_relay <b07876a121a432d39d89daf531e8f2bd> 79
    notification_pro <373a488638c436b48ef0801b212593c4> 103
    notification_pro <373a488638c436b48ef0801b212593c4> 101
    atc <1e5f2a595709376b97f7f0fa29368ef1> 836
    notification_pro <373a488638c436b48ef0801b212593c4> 99
    afcd <c3cc9d594b523fd1902fb69add11c25d> 136
    Facebook <508da383615c36cbad1d4c900c1aa7bc> 1785 (jettisoned)
    ptpd <62bc5573db7a352ab68409e87dc9abb9> 375
    mediaserverd <f03b746f09293fd39a6079c135e7ed00> 1054
    notifyd <f6a9aa19d33c3962aad3a77571017958> 165
    BTServer <31e82dfa7ccd364fb8fcc650f6194790> 346
    CommCenterClassi <041d4491826e3c6b911943eddf6aaac9> 274
    SpringBoard <c74dc89dec1c3392b3f7ac891869644a> 4961 (active)
    aggregated <a12fa71e6997362c83e0c23d8b4eb5b7> 377
    apsd <e7a29f2034083510b5439c0fb5de7ef1> 252
    configd <ee72b01d85c33a24b3548fa40fbe519c> 300
    fairplayd.K48 <47deae2d0fb23b6594b0128353e8b48d> 162
    fseventsd <914b28fa8f8a362fabcc47294380c81c> 158
    iapd <0a747292a113307abb17216274976be5> 280
    imagent <9c3a4f75d1303349a53fc6555ea25cd7> 286
    locationd <cf31b0cddd2d3791a2bfcd6033c99045> 627
    mDNSResponder <86ccd4633a6c3c7caf44f51ce4aca96d> 191
    mediaremoted <327f00bfc10b3820b4a74b9666b0c758> 217
    lockdownd <b06de06b9f6939d3afc607b968841ab9> 238
    powerd <133b7397f5603cf8bef209d4172d6c39> 124
    syslogd <7153b590e0353520a19b74a14654eaaa> 164
    wifid <3001cd0a61fe357d95f170247e5458f5> 225
    UserEventAgent <dc32e6824fd33bf189b266102751314f> 340
    launchd <5fec01c378a030a8bd23062689abb07f> 97
     
  39. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362
    Hi there yuewahchan, UMA won´t work on Unity3d 3.4.2, it requires unity 4.2.
     
  40. yuewahchan

    yuewahchan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Posts:
    309
    Sorry, my typing mistake, it is unity3d 4.2 basic version
     
  41. yuewahchan

    yuewahchan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Posts:
    309
  42. yuewahchan

    yuewahchan

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Posts:
    309
    The high memory usage seems related to the Garbage Collection hack in UMAGenerator.cs

    Not really, comment out the code cannot run on device as well.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2013
  43. Teila

    Teila

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Posts:
    6,816
    I downloaded the beta and it looks wonderful. I do have a question though. All of the clothing shown closely follows the geometry of the body. I understand why this works so well but what if we wanted to add something like a long skirt or robe? Would it be possible to do this?

    Thank you.
     
  44. Aria-Lliane

    Aria-Lliane

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Posts:
    14
    Hi Fernando, I'm using a computer with 3Gbs RAM and a 1Gb VRAM Graphic card and when generating a crowd unity crashes complaining about lack of memory, is that normal? Using the default 16 UMA's.
    Screenie:
    $UMA1error.png

    I re-tried it, 3 times, always the same result.
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2013
  45. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362
    Hi there!
    Yep, that´s for sure. Joen explained me this would help avoiding too much garbage collection, but it might not work well on mobiles. To be sincere I didn´t managed to test this last version on my iPad, I´ll update you if I find some good way to handle that.
    I would also recommend implementing an way to load textures when necessary, it´s probably requiring too much memory now as I´m providing lot´s of high res textures.
     
  46. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362
    Yay! It´s tricky but possible :)
     
  47. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362
    Hi there Aria! Sorry for the problem you´re having.
    What worries me is that looking at the stats window, you didn´t reached your memory limit at all... You´re using Unity indie, right?
    Both atlas resolution and scale are the standard values? You should hit your memory limit if you tried creating many avatars, but 16 wouldn´t be the problem with the default settings.
    If you create a smaller number of avatars, it works?
    Thanks for the feedback
     
  48. Teila

    Teila

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Posts:
    6,816
    Yay! Looks good. I have been watching tutorials on weighting and rigging skirts. Getting ready to make some medieval outfits. :) Thanks for the picture!!
     
  49. FernandoRibeiro

    FernandoRibeiro

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Posts:
    1,362
    = ))
    Some wire to help getting a better perception the way it´s deforming.
     
  50. Aria-Lliane

    Aria-Lliane

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Posts:
    14
    Yes, using the non-Pro Unity and all setting default.

    Ok, doing some testing.

    Unity alone, with a new scene and your package loaded uses +\- 150Mb.
    When on the Scene01 that comes with the project it uses 1.3Gbs.
    Genereting a 2x2 crowd goes to 1.5Gbs, so we can say that each character is using 50Mbs of memory space...
    Manualy deleting those characters does not decrease the memory usage...
    Creating a 2x2 crowd again trows the same Fatal Error.

    Heavy characters ;)
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2013
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
unityunity