Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020.1 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

ProBuilder - How to boolean/subtract object from another

Discussion in 'World Building' started by Vaupell, Feb 16, 2020.

  1. Vaupell

    Vaupell

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Posts:
    183
    Hi all, been a way for some years working on UE,, next project im back on U3D.

    However, i'm horrified to see some of my favorite tools, bought up and added into unity.
    Now only did probuilder lose its uniqueness, but also its interface and turned into generic bleh...

    Enough whining..

    I got the probuilder window open, i have to shapes i want to use on shape to cut out in the other "subtract"

    However, either things are grayed out, or simply not there..

    Any ideas? nothing usefull on youtube, only good videos showing back when probuilder was standalone.
     
  2. Murgilod

    Murgilod

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    7,163
    You can't do boolean subtraction in Probuilder.
     
  3. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    15,961
  4. N1warhead

    N1warhead

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Posts:
    3,682
    Yes you can. You have to enable it... I know it used to do it and a Unity employee told me you have to go somewhere and enable it to get the feature. I believe he said it was in the preferences window.. The boolean options used to be there already but for some reason Unity made it disabled initially (why I don't know).
     
  5. Murgilod

    Murgilod

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    7,163
    It's an experimental build option, as Ryiah just pointed out. I've used Probuilder for ages and boolean was always experimental and the kinda thing you had to grab off a github branch because it had some severe bugs that did things like periodically crash the editor.
     
  6. ElDivinCodino

    ElDivinCodino

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    Hi guys, don't know if still useful, but I leave here for the posterity.
    To enable experimental features in Unity 2019.* go to Edit -> Preferences -> ProBuilder -> Experimental Features Enabled.

    Have a nice day
     
  7. Claytonious

    Claytonious

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Posts:
    710
    On Unity 2019.3.10f1, trying to toggle that checkbox does not work. It refuses to turn on. Anyone know how to turn it on in 2019.3.10?

    EDIT: Ah, it refuses to turn on if you have any compiler errors in your project at that moment. After fixing those, it does turn on.
     
  8. hgokturk

    hgokturk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    No compile error but still doesn't let to turn it on. Any solution?
     
  9. unit_dev123

    unit_dev123

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2020
    Posts:
    996
    i use sabre csg
     
  10. hgokturk

    hgokturk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    Do Unity tech team have any idea why it's not possible to enable experimental features?
     
  11. asaknight

    asaknight

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I have observed that it takes a couple of seconds for the selection/deselection of the "Experimental Features Enabled" check box to take effect. Try selecting or deselecting, moving to another menu item, and then back to ProBuilder. That has been working for me.

    The issue I'm currently having is that the first subtraction of a cylinder from a plane (to make a pool table) does not work. All subsequent subtractions work fine.
     
unityunity