Search Unity

Probuilder error

Discussion in 'Package Manager' started by TenBitNet, Feb 15, 2019.

  1. TenBitNet

    TenBitNet

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    Posts:
    29
    I have been getting an error in unity and I think it is do to Probuilder. Do I have to just ignore it or is there some way to fix it?
    Code (CSharp):
    1. ArgumentException: JSON parse error: The document is empty.
    2. UnityEditor.EditorJsonUtility.FromJsonOverwrite (System.String json, System.Object objectToOverwrite) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Modules/JSONSerializeEditor/EditorJsonUtility.bindings.cs:33)
    3. UnityEditor.SettingsManagement.ProjectSettingsRepository.Init () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.probuilder@4.0.3/Settings/Editor/ProjectSettingsRepository.cs:41)
    4. UnityEditor.SettingsManagement.ProjectSettingsRepository.ContainsKey[T] (System.String key) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.probuilder@4.0.3/Settings/Editor/ProjectSettingsRepository.cs:108)
    5. UnityEditor.SettingsManagement.Settings.ContainsKey[T] (System.String key, UnityEditor.SettingsScope scope) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.probuilder@4.0.3/Settings/Editor/Settings.cs:125)
    6. UnityEditor.SettingsManagement.UserSetting`1[T].Init () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.probuilder@4.0.3/Settings/Editor/UserSetting.cs:300)
    7. UnityEditor.SettingsManagement.UserSetting`1[T].get_value () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.probuilder@4.0.3/Settings/Editor/UserSetting.cs:326)
    8. UnityEditor.SettingsManagement.UserSetting`1[T].op_Implicit (UnityEditor.SettingsManagement.UserSetting`1[T] pref) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.probuilder@4.0.3/Settings/Editor/UserSetting.cs:342)
    9. UnityEditor.ProBuilder.LogPreferences+<>c.<SetLogPreferences>b__1_0 () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.probuilder@4.0.3/Editor/EditorCore/LogEditor.cs:27)
    10. UnityEditor.EditorApplication.Internal_CallDelayFunctions () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/EditorApplication.cs:209)
    11.  
     
  2. TenBitNet

    TenBitNet

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    Posts:
    29
    Also when I press play mode I get an error as well.
    Code (CSharp):
    1. NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    2. UnityEditor.SettingsManagement.ProjectSettingsRepository.ContainsKey[T] (System.String key) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.probuilder@4.0.3/Settings/Editor/ProjectSettingsRepository.cs:109)
    3. UnityEditor.SettingsManagement.Settings.ContainsKey[T] (System.String key, UnityEditor.SettingsScope scope) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.probuilder@4.0.3/Settings/Editor/Settings.cs:125)
    4. UnityEditor.SettingsManagement.UserSetting`1[T].Init () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.probuilder@4.0.3/Settings/Editor/UserSetting.cs:300)
    5. UnityEditor.SettingsManagement.UserSetting`1[T].get_value () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.probuilder@4.0.3/Settings/Editor/UserSetting.cs:326)
    6. UnityEditor.SettingsManagement.UserSetting`1[T].op_Implicit (UnityEditor.SettingsManagement.UserSetting`1[T] pref) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.probuilder@4.0.3/Settings/Editor/UserSetting.cs:342)
    7. UnityEditor.ProBuilder.VersionValidator.ValidateVersion () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.probuilder@4.0.3/Editor/EditorCore/VersionValidator.cs:33)
    8. UnityEditor.EditorApplication.Internal_CallDelayFunctions () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/EditorApplication.cs:209)
     
  3. kaarrrllll

    kaarrrllll

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Posts:
    552
    Yes, that looks like an issue with the library ProBuilder is using to save preferences. Could you please file a bug report and PM the ticket number?
     
  4. bdovaz

    bdovaz

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,053
  5. kaarrrllll

    kaarrrllll

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Posts:
    552
  6. bdovaz

    bdovaz

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,053
    Ok, thanks.
     
  7. CWatsonT2

    CWatsonT2

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Posts:
    114
    Has this been fixed? I'm still getting it and I'm using version 4.1.0 in unity 2019.2.8f1.
     
  8. AlcoleponeHome

    AlcoleponeHome

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Posts:
    47
    its appears not :(
     
  9. kaarrrllll

    kaarrrllll

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Posts:
    552
    @AlcoleponeHome The latest is 4.1.2 (new as of yesterday), could you try updating?
     
  10. AlcoleponeHome

    AlcoleponeHome

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Posts:
    47
    yeap currently on unity 2019.1.5f1 and latest pro builder 4.2.1 as this error

    Library\PackageCache\com.unity.polybrush@1.0.1\Editor\ProBuilderIntegration\ProBuilderBridge.cs(200,72): error CS0246: The type or namespace name 'PolyEditor' could not be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?)

    Library\PackageCache\com.unity.polybrush@1.0.1\Editor\ProBuilderIntegration\ProBuilderBridge.cs(592,61): error CS0103: The name 'PolyEditor' does not exist in the current context

    Library\PackageCache\com.unity.polybrush@1.0.1\Editor\ProBuilderIntegration\ProBuilderBridge.cs(612,61): error CS0103: The name 'PolyEditor' does not exist in the current context



     
  11. kaarrrllll

    kaarrrllll

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Posts:
    552
    In a clean 2019.1 project I was able to import ProBuilder 4.2.1 and Polybrush 1.0.1 without issue. I have seen problems before where other script or package compilation errors can interfere with a package import, and in those cases I usually have to remove both ProBuilder and Polybrush, then reimport each.
     
  12. AlcoleponeHome

    AlcoleponeHome

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Posts:
    47
    i uninstalled polybrush and probuilder, and the compile errors went...

    reinstalled probuilder and...

    new compile error
    Copying assembly from 'Temp/com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi.Runtime.dll' to 'Library/ScriptAssemblies/com.unity.multiplayer-hlapi.Runtime.dll' failed
     
  13. DragonicHead

    DragonicHead

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    try uninstalling it and reinstalling it from the Package Manager (if there's any update(s) -> update it)
    NOTE: This problem happened to me, but I fixed it by myself (Mb)
     
  14. DragonicHead

    DragonicHead

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    After finishing this step(⬆): (if there are new compile errors) move the file (com.unity.probuilder) from the file (packages) to the file (Assets) and delete it from the file (packages)
     
  15. DragonicHead

    DragonicHead

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    don't forget to clear all errors from console