Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Probuilder Bug after Upgrade

Discussion in 'World Building' started by CodexofRome, May 11, 2020.

  1. CodexofRome

    CodexofRome

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Posts:
    42
    This morning I upgraded Probuilder to the latest version with Package Manager. Now I'm getting this error in the console. Probuilder itself seems to work fine, although I haven't tested all of the functionality.

    MissingReferenceException: The variable m_WireMaterial of EditorMeshHandles doesn't exist anymore.
    You probably need to reassign the m_WireMaterial variable of the 'EditorMeshHandles' script in the inspector.
    UnityEngine.Material.SetColorImpl (System.Int32 name, UnityEngine.Color value) (at <d815b7efac424eeb8e053965cccb1f98>:0)
    UnityEngine.Material.SetColor (System.String name, UnityEngine.Color value) (at <d815b7efac424eeb8e053965cccb1f98>:0)
    UnityEditor.ProBuilder.EditorMeshHandles.ReloadPreferences () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.probuilder@4.3.0-preview.9/Editor/EditorCore/EditorMeshHandles.cs:189)
    UnityEditor.ProBuilder.EditorMeshHandles.ResetPreferences () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.probuilder@4.3.0-preview.9/Editor/EditorCore/EditorMeshHandles.cs:153)
    UnityEditor.ProBuilder.ProBuilderEditor.LoadSettings () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.probuilder@4.3.0-preview.9/Editor/EditorCore/ProBuilderEditor.cs:392)
    UnityEditor.ProBuilder.ProBuilderEditor.OnEnable () (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.probuilder@4.3.0-preview.9/Editor/EditorCore/ProBuilderEditor.cs:328)​

    This is with v2019.3.7f1 Personal on Windows 10.
     
    Gua and ErikH2000 like this.
  2. ron-bohn

    ron-bohn

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Posts:
    152
  3. Niijel

    Niijel

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Just to confirm this error and that it is present in 2018.4.22f1 (current LTS unity version)

    PROBUILDER 4.3.0.PREVIEW9 does not have this problem - upgrading does fix it.
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2020
    ErikH2000, ron-bohn and kaarrrllll like this.
  4. jemca

    jemca

    Joined:
    May 7, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    It still exists on 2019.4. Just disappears after turning off probuilder.
     
  5. kaarrrllll

    kaarrrllll

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Posts:
    388
    Thanks for the report, there is a bug open already that I'm looking into.
     
    reinfeldx likes this.
  6. reinfeldx

    reinfeldx

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Posts:
    119
    @kaarrrllll I'm still getting this. Any update/guidance?
     
  7. PraetorBlue

    PraetorBlue

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    3,865
    +1 getting this on 2019.4.5f1 with ProBuilder 4.3.1
     
    reinfeldx likes this.
  8. dorusoftware

    dorusoftware

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Posts:
    98
    Same here, 2019.4.5f1 with ProBuilder 4.3.1 URP setup, only Probuilder in project and cinemachine, nothing else. If probuilder window is open the errors fires up each time you hit play
     
    reinfeldx likes this.
  9. kaarrrllll

    kaarrrllll

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Posts:
    388
    Yes, this is fixed in the next preview update.
     
    PraetorBlue likes this.
  10. sand_lantern

    sand_lantern

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Posts:
    157
    Do you know when that will be? The error has been driving me batty for months.
     
    reinfeldx likes this.
  11. reinfeldx

    reinfeldx

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Posts:
    119
    Is 4.4.0 the update that includes the fix? I'm wondering if I should update from 4.3.1.
     
    PraetorBlue likes this.
  12. kaarrrllll

    kaarrrllll

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Posts:
    388
    Yes 4.4.0 fixes this. Note that you may need to close ProBuilder and restart Unity after updating for this error to completely clear.
     
    ErikH2000, PraetorBlue and reinfeldx like this.
  13. ErikH2000

    ErikH2000

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Posts:
    10
    Confirming that with Unity 2019.4.12f1 and PB 4.4.0 this bug is no longer present. This makes me happy. Thanks!
     
unityunity