Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

ProBuilder Boolean Error

Discussion in 'World Building' started by ChaosResolution, Jan 21, 2019.

  1. ChaosResolution

    ChaosResolution

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Posts:
    80
    I understand that it's experimental, but the boolean tool is giving me the following error each time I try to use it:



    Using version 4.0.2 and Unity 2018.3.0f2. Any idea what I can do to fix this?
     
  2. gabrielw_unity

    gabrielw_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Posts:
    963
    Hi there! Can you give me exact steps to replicate? That's a big help. ie, at what stage of the process does it bug out? Thanks!
     
  3. ChaosResolution

    ChaosResolution

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Posts:
    80
    As soon as I press the Apply button! Tools -> ProBuilder -> Experimental -> Boolean Tool. I've added a Cube and a Cylinder, performing a Subtraction operation.

    Strangely, a team member (we use Collab) tested it and is not getting the error!
     
  4. ChaosResolution

    ChaosResolution

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Posts:
    80
    In case it's also useful, here's the full error:

     
  5. gabrielw_unity

    gabrielw_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Posts:
    963
    Hi! That's strange indeed- I'll ping @kaarrrllll for a more technical look :)
     
    ChaosResolution likes this.
  6. xWuri

    xWuri

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Was there ever a solution to this?
     
    Ash-Blue likes this.
  7. ChaosResolution

    ChaosResolution

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Posts:
    80
    I did eventually get rid of it, but by accident. When 4.0.2 came out it had some issues so I downgraded back to 3.0.9, and suddenly it worked. Incidentally, I recently tried 4.0.3 and encountered a different problem, so now I'm back to 3.0.9 again!
     
  8. customphase

    customphase

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Posts:
    243
    @gabrielw_unity 4.0.3 still has this issue. Is it going to be fixed any time soon? Works perfectly fine in 3.0.9 but fails in 4+
     
  9. ChaosResolution

    ChaosResolution

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Posts:
    80
    Yeah, I'm getting the issue again now with 4.0.3. :(

    Tested using a fresh project in Unity 2018.3.4f1 in ProBuilder 4.0.3
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2019
    corjn and customphase like this.
  10. Ash-Blue

    Ash-Blue

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Posts:
    102
    This still isn't fixed as of 4.5.0 ProBuilder with Unity version 2020.2.4f1 :( It seems to randomly crash in certain scenarios. Guess I'm going back to Blender for now.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2021
  11. ssedlmayr

    ssedlmayr

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Posts:
    36
    I'm not sure if this is related or not but Unity 2021.1.3f1 completely crashes on me when I attempt to use the Boolean tool:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. Unhandled exception at 0x00007FFE31A6A3BC (mono-2.0-bdwgc.dll) in Unity.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation writing location 0x000000F95B800DB8. occurred
    It does this for both subtraction and intersection. Kind of a bummer because I'm trying to prototype something, but without this tool I will have to spend a bunch of time exporting Asset Store assets from Unity and into Maya to modify them, then import them back in to replace the existing objects.
     
    s-killioglu likes this.
  12. s-killioglu

    s-killioglu

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Same thing happening here on 2020.3.4.f1.
     
  13. Ubihak

    Ubihak

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Unity Version : 2021.1.9f1 (64-bit) Probuilder Version 5.0.3

    Same issue with (Boolean(CSG) Tool, Crashes when applying any operations

    1.create an empty scene
    2.Create a new shape : cube
    3.Create another shape : cylinder
    4. Put the cylinder inside the cube, both extremities of the cylinder are out of the cube
    5.Save Scene
    6.Open the boolean tool window via Unity tab : Tools > Probuilder > Expermiental > Boolean(CSG)Tool
    7.From hierarchy pannel drag the Cube inside the left window of the Boolean tool and the cylinder in the right windowof the Boolean tool
    8. apply any operation (Intersection, substraction...
    9.Unity crashes

    It does the same issue with Unity Version : 2021.1.13f1 (64-bit)
    It does the same issue with Unity Version : 2021.1.18f1 (64-bit)
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2021
  14. osivee

    osivee

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    having same issue as ubihak on 2020.3.16f1
     
  15. EverlastingFae

    EverlastingFae

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Having the same issues 2021.2.7f1 is anyone gonna fix this?
     
  16. Pie_Eater100

    Pie_Eater100

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    IKR This issue is SO ANNOYING I have it too!
     
  17. bugfinders

    bugfinders

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2018
    Posts:
    1,394
    You're really using v4? v5 and the boolean tool does sort of work as long as you save everything first in case cos it does poof