Search Unity

Probuilder 2.x Prefabs Disappear, Help!

Discussion in 'World Building' started by BostonGamesLLC, Mar 14, 2019.

1. BostonGamesLLC

BostonGamesLLC

I am having trouble exporting prefab packages with meshes made using Probuilder. I include all dependencies with the prefabs I attempt to export, but when I import the packages to a new project all of the prefab components sculpted using Probuild do not appear and I cannot see, alter, or use them.

ORIGINAL :oops::

IMPORTED :eek::

the Probuild meshes do not appear in the prefab icon or on the scene/game screens. there is the usual movable xyz axis icon when i click on the components, but it appears as an empty game object.

There are no scripts attached to the objects.

I am using Unity 2018.3.7 and ProBuilder 2.x

I am still new to Unity and hoping this is a common problem that has an easy fix lol.

2. gabrielw_unity

gabrielw_unity

Unity Technologies

Hi! ProBuilder 2.x is very old now, I would recommend upgrading to 4.x. Make a backup first! (you are using GitHub/similar, I hope?)

Second, ProBuilder currently stores mesh data in the scene, so if you need to send a ProBuilder prefab to another project, you should first use the "Export as Asset" tool. Click "Export", then choose "Asset" type. You could also use OBJ, but if it's just within Unity, Asset is a bit cleaner :)

Hope that helps!

BostonGamesLLC likes this.
  3. BostonGamesLLC

BostonGamesLLC

Working with the updated version 4.x now, and I have GitHub ^_~

Have been testing different ways of exporting prefabs or meshes made with ProBuilder to use in more than one project, and the closest I can get is:

A:
    1. Merging the mesh in ProBuilder (otherwise the child objects save separately in the Project window and is impractical for transferring between projects since you would have to manually re-position each piece to make the whole object again, not preferred but I couldn't find a workaround for this)