Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Join us on Dec 8, 2022, between 7 am & 7 pm EST, in the DOTS Dev Blitz Day 2022 - Q&A forum, Discord, and Unity3D Subreddit to learn more about DOTS directly from the Unity Developers.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Problems with States and Transitions in the Animator

Discussion in 'Animation' started by fidu4747, Mar 20, 2022.

  1. fidu4747

    fidu4747

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2022
    Posts:
    3
    Hello I am verry new to Unity and wanted to animate my Charakter for an Action RPG Game,
    so I started to work with the "Animator" but i think there is something wrong in my settings.

    The Problem is, if an State has already 2 transitions I can´t select the Animation anymore.

    Figure 01: Idle -> Walk (no Problem)
    upload_2022-3-20_16-38-57.png

    Figure 02: Walk -> Run (Make Transition does not exist)
    upload_2022-3-20_16-40-26.png

    If I first set up the Walk -> Run animation I cant choose transition between Idle and Walk.


    If i leftklick on walk after that the Inspector window shows up like this.
    upload_2022-3-20_16-48-30.png

    So I think the problem is I can´t choose a State If it already has 2 transitions but why is it like this and can I change it enywere ?

    Excuse me for my bad english I am from Germany and Unity started to be a Hobby a few Month ago.
    Thanks for the Help.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Unrighteouss

    Unrighteouss

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    440
    This is definitely a bug. It seems it was introduced in Unity 2020.3.31f1.

    Making a transition completely breaks the state in the animator for me. I'm about to submit a bug report, and you can as well if you like. I'm honestly very surprised this bug made it into an LTS version of Unity.

    How to report bugs: https://unity3d.com/unity/qa/bug-reporting

    For now, I would recommending downloading 2020.3.30f1, as this bug is not present there. You can download older versions by going to Unity Hub, Installs, Archive, download archive.

    Direct link: https://unity3d.com/get-unity/download/archive
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2022
    MirageOwl and Macko_Pu_ like this.
  3. fidu4747

    fidu4747

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2022
    Posts:
    3
    Thank you for the fast answer. Tomorrow i will report this Bug.
    If I klick on the 3 points on the top right corner and choose Maximize everything works as normal. But still can´t see the Inspector window ( because Animator is Maximized...).
     
    MirageOwl and Unrighteouss like this.
  4. fidu4747

    fidu4747

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2022
    Posts:
    3
    Version 2020.3.30f1 works just fine. Thanks again.
     
    Unrighteouss likes this.
  5. Ted_Wikman

    Ted_Wikman

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Posts:
    792
    Thanks for reporting this bug @Unrighteouss, could you let me know the fogbugz id your report has so that I can take a peek at how it is coming along?
     
    rc82 likes this.
  6. Unrighteouss

    Unrighteouss

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    440
    Sure, I think this is the ID: 1412226

    If you need more information than that, please let me know.
     
    chuzacc and Ted_Wikman like this.
  7. mateuslucch

    mateuslucch

    Joined:
    May 21, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Having the same problem, State with two transitions bugged.
    I noticed that the state configuration are still full in the inspector, but something is hiding it(passing the mouse over it changes the cursor in some points of the inspector).
    I´ve just send a report. ID: 1412574
     
  8. Malbers

    Malbers

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Posts:
    2,552
    Same issues with 31f Duplicated states are broken (Just Reported it)
     
    JohnnyRic likes this.
  9. bl4ckfoot

    bl4ckfoot

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    Same for me 2020.3.31f1
     
  10. Ted_Wikman

    Ted_Wikman

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Posts:
    792
    Thank you for all your reports, a fix is currently being verified by QA.
     
    rc82 and Unrighteouss like this.
  11. M_Veng

    M_Veng

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Yeah, this also happens to me as well using 2020.3.31f1
     
  12. Ted_Wikman

    Ted_Wikman

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Posts:
    792
  13. Silentor666

    Silentor666

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    There is a workaround, switch inspector to Debug mode and you can create transitions.
     
    unitydevdos and JAWBREAKER_7 like this.
  14. dunghn94

    dunghn94

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    It worked on 2020.3.32
     
    Jimbo_Cymru likes this.
  15. Rick8684n

    Rick8684n

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    This bug is still happening for me. I've tried 2020.3.31f and 2020.32f, and the bug is still present. Adding a transition breaks the animation behaviour, regardless of what is in it, when the animator was created or any other factors. I've looking through older controllers, and the bug is still there however the animators still function.

    I'll have to revert to an earlier installation. This seems like a very big problem to be present for 2 versions. Creating a character controller is impossible.
     
  16. pzoghbi

    pzoghbi

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2019
    Posts:
    6
    I have a problem with animation transition. Using Unity 2020.3.33f1

    SOLVED:
    The problem was that: Animator was jumping to Idle state as soon as "isMoving" was set to false.
    I had to explicitly state that in order to change from Move to Idle that isDucking is false. :)

    I have a 1-frame animation state called "Player Duck."
    I allow transitioning into this state from "Player Move" without Exit time, and Transition Duration is 0.

    There is always some transition happening when changing between these two states, and it's super annoying because I think I know how this is supposed to work.



    The transition to "Player Duck" is not instantaneous.
    I tried with a trigger which I thought made more sense, but I also tried with boolean (more recent).

    I "trigger" the animation using a coroutine:
    Code (CSharp):
    1.     IEnumerator CollectItem(Item item)
    2.     {
    3.         isCollecting = true;
    4.         myAnimator.SetBool("isDucking", isCollecting);
    5.         InventoryItem newItem = new InventoryItem(item.Sprite, item.Size, item.name);
    6.         playerInventory.AddItemToInventory(newItem);
    7.      
    8.         yield return new WaitForSeconds(.5f);
    9.         isCollecting = false;
    10.         myAnimator.SetBool("isDucking", isCollecting);
    11.     }
    Inspector view for the transition:
    upload_2022-4-9_1-31-3.png
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2022
  17. Ted_Wikman

    Ted_Wikman

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Posts:
    792
    A fix for this issue has landed in Unity 2020.3.33f1.
    Thank you all for your reports, and do let us know if you have any more issues!
     
    Jimbo_Cymru and MirageOwl like this.
  18. Mouton_redstone

    Mouton_redstone

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    I don't find it weird that it made trough LTS, it's why we keep having updates
     
  19. Unrighteouss

    Unrighteouss

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    440
    LTS versions are supposed to be stable. This is my first time seeing something like this in the 5+ years I've been using Unity, so it's pretty weird to see.

    It's all fixed in the latest LTS versions though, so all good now.