Search Unity

1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Problems with particles: created but not moving (and ignoring emitter shape too!)

Discussion in 'Physics' started by mteom, Feb 6, 2015.

1. mteom

mteom

Hello.
    I hope this is the right place for this issue.

I recently started playing with the particle system (2d project).
    I can create them just fine, but when i instantiate the object that has a particle system attached to it, i notice very strange behaviours.
    First, i have my object in the "Resources" folder as prefabs, and they get instantiated in an OnCollisionEnter2d() method.
    If i test the prefab in the editor (by dragging it into the scene then press the simulate button near the emitter)everything works just fine, the same if i test the game by pressing play, then dragging the prefab into the scene in realtime and repeating the above; if i test the scene by playing it, without creating instances myself, but only through the instantiating script, the particles get created but they don't move at all, they just appear, change size then vanish.
    All this happen if the emitter shape is set to "box"; if i change it to any other shape, the particles moves normally.....but they seems to ignore the shape of the emitter!
    So if i set the emitter to hemisphere, i would expect the particles to only go upwards and a little sideways...instead they all act like it's a sphere emitter.
    This only if i instantiate them through scripting, if i drag and drop all works fine.

This is how the particles are created:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. public class ParticleHelper : MonoBehaviour
    2. {
    3.     // Singleton
    4.     public static ParticleHelper Instance;
    5.     //
    7.     public ParticleSystem HeartEmitter;
    8.     public ParticleSystem CoinEmitter;
    9.     public ParticleSystem StarBurst;
    11.     void Awake()
    12.     {
    13.         // Register the singleton
    14.         if (Instance != null)