Search Unity

problems with jumping code

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by gladosthedestroyer, May 10, 2018.

1. gladosthedestroyer

gladosthedestroyer

hi I'm a college student trying to learn unity and I have come across an issue where the character controls are not linked with the player despite all the code being correct (from a YouTube tutorial).

Here's the error:

UnassignedReferenceException: The variable groundCheckPoint of PlayerController has not been assigned.
    You probably need to assign the groundCheckPoint variable of the PlayerController script in the inspector.
    UnityEngine.Transform.get_position () (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/artifacts/generated/common/runtime/TransformBindings.gen.cs:27)
    PlayerController.Update () (at Assets/Assets/scripts/PlayerController.cs:34)

Here's most of the code.

upload_2018-5-10_10-18-13.png
    If any ideas please let me know

screenshot of the game view.

upload_2018-5-10_10-22-40.png

Attached Files:

2. LeftyRighty

LeftyRighty

did you put something in that reference slot in the inspector? ... o_O

also, code tags rather than a screen shot of code please :) https://forum.unity.com/threads/using-code-tags-properly.143875/

3. gladosthedestroyer

gladosthedestroyer

using System.Collections;
    using System.Collections.Generic;
    using UnityEngine;
    public class PlayerController : MonoBehaviour
    {
    public float moveSpeed;
    public float jumpforce;
    public KeyCode left;
    public KeyCode right;
    public KeyCode jump;
    public KeyCode throwBall;
    private Rigidbody2D theRB;
    public Transform groundCheckPoint;
    public float groundCheckRadius;
    public LayerMask whatisGround;
    public bool isGrounded;
    // Use this for initialization
    void Start() {
    theRB = GetComponent<Rigidbody2D>();
    }
    // Update is called once per frame
    void Update() {

{
    isGrounded = Physics2D.OverlapCircle(groundCheckPoint.position, groundCheckRadius, whatisGround);