Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Problems with Create with Code Lesson 3.3 Don't Just Stand There

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Ufreewoody, Jan 11, 2020.

1. Ufreewoody

Ufreewoody

I am attempting to complete the Tutorial for "Create with Code" Lesson 3.3 Don't Just Stand There. Step 6 Set up a Falling Animation I'm having problems with the code where it is referencing "other" but it appears it was never defined so I'm getting compile errors. I'm new to all of this but determined to learn.

I am also having problems with the reference to the variable jumpFoce it shows in the video example the playerRb.AddForce(Vector3.up * 10 jumpForce, ForceMode.Impulse); but this creates errors as well so I removed the "10" and the errors went away is this correct?

Here is my code for the PlayerController.cs

using System.Collections; using System.Collections.Generic; using UnityEngine;

public class PlayerController : MonoBehaviour { private Rigidbody playerRb; private Animator playerAnim; public float jumpForce = 10; public float gravityModifier; public bool isOnGround = true; public bool gameOver = false;

2. Bill_Martini

Bill_Martini

Please use Code Tags when posting code. What you provided is impossible to read for debugging and incomplete.

Code (CSharp):
    1. playerRb.AddForce(Vector3.up * 10 jumpForce, ForceMode.Impulse);
    should be;

Code (CSharp):
    1. playerRb.AddForce(Vector3.up * 10 * jumpForce, ForceMode.Impulse);
    As a beginner it is important to pay attention to syntax, misspelling, case, and completeness. Each error tells you the offending script and line number. You could have easily gone back and compared that line with the original in the tutorial. Debugging doesn't get any easier that that.

Joe-Censored likes this.
  3. Ufreewoody

Ufreewoody

Ok, thank you so much.