Search Unity

  1. The 2022.1 beta is now available for testing. To find out what's new, have a look at our 2022.1 beta blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Read here for Unity's latest plans on OpenXR.
    Dismiss Notice

Problems with building to Oculus Quest

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by xKingGx, Sep 10, 2020.

  1. xKingGx

    xKingGx

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hi,
    I'm trying to build my test apk from unity to my Oculus Quest. I can choose the device in my build settings. But when clicking on "build and start" it responses: "Android device is not responding". I don't know what to do. Can someone please hep me?
    I'm using a Macbook pro late 15. ADB and Android File Transfer recognizes the Quest.
    best regards
     
    shahlahar likes this.
  2. arfish

    arfish

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Posts:
    517
    Hi,

    Have you followed the guide at the Oculus site?
    https://developer.oculus.com/documentation/unity/unity-build/

    "...The Build and Run option requires you to connect the Oculus device to your computer over a USB-C cable. As mentioned in step 4 of Select Build Platform, select the device from the Run Device list. If your device is not connected or has connection or detection issues, the Build and Run option fails in generating build..."
     
  3. Banksy

    Banksy

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2013
    Posts:
    369
    Oculus Quest 2 connected via an Oculus Link Cable (official cable) & still no android connection. It does however run in real-time in Unity when I hit Play... WTF !! FaceBook Sux & Oculus is a piece of crap
     
  4. adamhill

    adamhill

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Posts:
    26
    One thing I had to do is when I first installed the Oculus Developer app was to do a "adb kill-sever" from the command line. Then an "adb devices" and it restarted the daemon and the dashboard saw it.

    Standard caveats apply — Make sure the Quest is in developer mode. Might even try revoking debugging permissions, unplug cable, plug back in and allow debugging. I have had cases with normal Android development where that was the only way I could deploy after VS forgot that it could debug my device. Go figure.
     
  5. sandmanblue

    sandmanblue

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    did you enable developer mode?
     
  6. Home_Builder

    Home_Builder

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    I have connected my Quest, as per the instructions and I see it in 'Run Device' and I am able to 'Build' but I get this error when I 'Build and Run'.
     
  7. Realform

    Realform

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    It is 2021 and I guess I have the same problem as you, but don't understand WHY, just a few months before I did some test on the glasses and then now I cant build any apk
     
  8. DevDunk

    DevDunk

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Posts:
    400
    You can try running it via SideQuest maybe
     
unityunity