Search Unity

  1. Get all the Unite Berlin 2018 news on the blog.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2018.2 has arrived! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. ARCore is out of developer preview! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Magic Leap’s Lumin SDK Technical Preview for Unity lets you get started creating content for Magic Leap One™. Find more information on our blog!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Problems importing a Daz3D character to Unity

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by muxe666, Jan 13, 2018.

  1. muxe666

    muxe666

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    Hello, I'm new to Unity and I'm trying to import a character from Daz3D into Unity. I tried it alone, but quickly came across a problem with the materials. To fix this problem, I have looked at various tutorials that have worked well, but I still have the problem and I have no idea.
    The problem:
    When I import a character into Unity, I have eyelashes and eyes that are not transparent. To change that, I would have to change the materials. BUT the materials are grayed out in the Inspector, even if I made it step by step after a tutorial.
    In the attached picture you can see my problem, does anyone have an idea why it could be?


    Thank you in advance, greetings Max
     
  2. Schneider21

    Schneider21

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Posts:
    2,691
    Welcome!

    Don't edit them from the Inspector. Edit them from the Project window.
     
  3. muxe666

    muxe666

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks for the quick response, if I understand you correctly, I should open the material directly through the project window and then edit. But unfortunately it is grayed out. If I misunderstood you, could you try a little more detail?

    Greetings Max
     
  4. methos5k

    methos5k

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Posts:
    8,710
    You cannot modify the shader in that last screenshot?
     
  5. muxe666

    muxe666

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    No, it's just grayed out.
     
  6. methos5k

    methos5k

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Posts:
    8,710
    k, sorry , couldn't tell from the photo :)
     
  7. jilt

    jilt

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Posts:
    46
    Looks like it's imported with default materials, which can't be edited. Workaround : create a new material and drag it into the material slot of the mesh renderer. Drag the textures into the new material.
     
    Bestazy likes this.
  8. muxe666

    muxe666

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks for the tip, I'll try it as soon as I'm home. :)
     
  9. methos5k

    methos5k

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Posts:
    8,710
    Sounds like a good response - hope it works for ya :)
     
  10. muxe666

    muxe666

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    It works! Thanks!
     
    jilt likes this.
  11. methos5k

    methos5k

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Posts:
    8,710
    Awesome :) Eyes are important lol
     
  12. Bestazy

    Bestazy

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    ye,look awsemo!
     
  13. methos5k

    methos5k

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Posts:
    8,710