Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Problems, I faced while using job system in my game

Discussion in 'C# Job System' started by Rewaken, Feb 20, 2019.

1. Rewaken

Rewaken

Hello, first I want to thank unity for jobs/ECS without this system I can't even imagine making my game. I want to say that I am not that experienced developer and following issues may be a simple fix but it consumes too much of my time also I understand that it is not production ready yet still in beta. My native language is not English but I will still try to simplify everything so it will be easy for devs to understand the problem. I will start by explaining my game and how I am using the job system then I will list the problems I faced while developing the game.
    I am making RTS/RPG game for RTS part, I am using the job system. Previously when I was not using jobs I need to micro-optimize everything as I want to simulate large battle 20k-30k soldiers like even using Equality checks(==) proving costly. After moving to the job system I removed all game objects and move all logic in structs. I am using my own animator and pathfinding solution basically I am baking animation with shader and drawing them using DrawInstancedIndirect method.
    Every calculation(entities position, rotation, Animation State, AI behaviour) is done in parallel jobs. My project is over 20gbs and takes too much time to load(15 minutes).