Search Unity

Problem with UVs when importing models from .blend or .fbx file

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by theguga96, Oct 22, 2019.

1. theguga96

theguga96

Hi guys, I'm new to Unity and I'm trying to make assets for my videogame using Blender but I've encountered a problem when importing the models either from the .blend file or from an .fbx file Unity isn't loading UVs in the correct way. I've applied rotation,scale and position in Blender to the model but it isn't working. I've also tried to import a simple cube with no transformation applied and it doesn't work either.
    I've tried messing around with settings in Unity (swap Uvs, weld vertices, keep quads....) but nothing changed.
    Am I missing something?
    In addition I've added an image showing the shader I'm using (it makes the edges of my cubes emit light) and an image showing the shader applied to a cube made in blender (the left one) and one made in unity (the right one).

Attached Files:

2. kdgalla

kdgalla

I've never had trouble with UVs going from Blender to Unity. Are you sure that your UVs were correct in Blender to begin with?

3. kburkhart84

kburkhart84

Can you show your UV map in Blender for the model...I'm hoping you aren't applying materials using generated/automatic UVs in Blender, as those things don't get applied to the actual model and are only used when rendering and previewing in Blender. You should be able to snap a screenshot of the UVs of the model if you've done it right. If not, feel free to clarify so we can help.

4. theguga96

theguga96

sorry for the late response, yes I've checked the uv in blender and it is correct. I've exported the uv, drawn on it and used it as texture and it works.
    I've tried using the same texture in unity and it works as well. The problem rises only when using the shaders

5. theguga96

theguga96