Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Problem with implementing Cinemachine into scene that has pre-existing zoom trigger function.

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by segasega89, Aug 18, 2019.

1. segasega89

segasega89

Hi there,

I'm a beginner to Unity and I'm trying to make a 2D platform game at the moment where I hope to implement both a "zoom on trigger" function and Cinemachine into the gameplay.
    I'm working on a scene where the player crosses a trigger(in this case a rectangular quad) and the orthographic camera zooms in on the scene. I've got this function working properly yet once I add Cinemachine into the scene the zoom function stops functioning completely. I'm assuming that the reason why this code stops working when I add Cinemachine to the project is that I need to reference the virtual camera rather than the main camera in the code of the "Zoom In" function?
    Here is the code I have for the the ZoomIn function shown below:

void ZoomIn(){

if(Camera.main.orthographicSize > 8f)
    {

Camera.main.orthographicSize =
    Mathf.Lerp (
    Camera.main.orthographicSize,
    Camera.main.orthographicSize + -increment,
    timeLerp * Time.deltaTime);

}else if(Camera.main.orthographicSize < 5f){
    {
    shouldZoomIn = false;
    }

}

Could anybody help me on how to alter the code on this function so that I can reference the vcam rather than the main camera? I'm really not sure how to go about it. I've found a thread on how to reference the virtual cam here:https://forum.unity.com/threads/how...change-virtual-cams-orthographic-size.499491/
    It suggests putting the current camera and the Cinemachine Brain into variables and set the orthographic size the virtual camera by querying the Cinemachine Brain variable:

1. var camera = Camera.main;