Search Unity

Problem with getting correct values using localEulerAngles and localRotation

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Vit3D, Aug 12, 2016.

1. Vit3D

Vit3D

Greetings,

I work at script for control skeleton bone rotation in Play Mode.
    I'm new in codding for Unity, so first of all I decided to check how I can read local bone rotation in animation.
    If I'm not mistaken Unity provide two ways to read local rotation values - transform.localEulerAngles and transform.localRotation.

To test both of them I made small script:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. // Read and Dump local rotations
    2. using UnityEngine;
    3. using System.Collections;
    5. public class ReadRotation : MonoBehaviour {
    6. // Vars
    7. //    Default : gameObject, transform
    8.     private Vector3 current_localEuler;
    9.     private Quaternion current_localRotation;
    11.     public void Start () {
    12.         Debug.Log( "Local Rotations Dump:");
    13.     }
    14.     void LateUpdate() {
    15.         current_localEuler = transform.localEulerAngles;
    16.         current_localRotation = transform.localRotation;
    17.         // Debug
    18.         Debug.Log( "Local Euler Rot: " + current_localEuler.x + " : " + current_localEuler.y + " : " + current_localEuler.z );
    19.         Debug.Log( "Local Rotation : " + ConvToDegree(current_localRotation.x) + " : " + ConvToDegree(current_localRotation.y) + " : " + ConvToDegree(current_localRotation.z));
    20.     }
    21.     private float ConvToDegree(float rot) {
    22.         rot = rot * 180;
    23.         if (rot >= 360) {
    24.             rot -= 360;
    25.         }
    26.         else {
    27.             if (rot <= -360) {
    28.                 rot += 360;
    29.             }
    30.         }
    31.         return (rot);
    32.     }
    33. }
    Also I prepared simple construction which consists of two objects -- Parent and Child (Child parented to Parent).