Search Unity

Question Problem with applying textures from Assets to objects created in Blender

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by igoapp, Dec 12, 2021.

1. igoapp

igoapp

Hi.

I have just started learning Unity and am currently a total noob. So, please bear with me.

I have created three objects in Blender: two chains and a ring (hoop), and added these objects to my Unity project. I have also added a sphere in Unity. Furthermore, I have added an asset called Basic Metal Texture Pack. Then, I created a material using textures and normal maps from the Pack and applied the material to all four objects.

There are a few issues that are demonstrated on the first attached image. First, the chains created in Blender from a torus (see image 2) do not have the material applied properly. The top and bottom edges are fine but the middle parts of the chains have textures protruded (extended).

Second, for some reason, the material is applied just fine to the chains and the sphere but not to the ring/hoop. I am not aware of any differences between the chain and the ring models in Blender. What could be the culprit?

I have created the material by applying the downloaded texture and the normal map to an object. Should I instead create a new shader using the textures? Are there good examples of realistic rusty metal shaders that would explain the steps to be taken? I have made some research but failed to find any good and realistic examples.

Is there a way to randomize the rusty parts of the texture, i.e. change the shape and location on the objects? It is one texture that is applied, and the way it is applied to various objects is the same. Can I do it in SHader Graph?

Thank you so much for your help!

Igor

Attached Files:

2. igoapp

igoapp

EDIT:

I did UV unwrapping of the chain object in Blender and the first problem seems to have been solved. Still trying to address the other ones.

Attached Files:

3. UnityLighting

UnityLighting