Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Problem when updating and changing the installation location

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Laguna_Seca, Sep 13, 2018.

  1. Laguna_Seca

    Laguna_Seca

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Posts:
    109
    I get the following errors

    C:/Users/�嬥�/AppData/Local/Unity/cache/packages/packages.unity.com/com.unity.collab-proxy@1.2.9/Editor/Collab/CollabHistoryWindow.cs(13,56): error CS0122: `UnityEditor.Collaboration.ICollabHistoryWindow' is inaccessible due to its protection level

    C:/Users/�嬥�/AppData/Local/Unity/cache/packages/packages.unity.com/com.unity.collab-proxy@1.2.9/Editor/Collab/CollabToolbarButton.cs(9,42): error CS0246: The type or namespace name `SubToolbar' could not be found. Are you missing an assembly reference?

    C:/Users/�嬥�/AppData/Local/Unity/cache/packages/packages.unity.com/com.unity.collab-proxy@1.2.9/Editor/Collab/CollabToolbarWindow.cs(26,42): error CS0122: `UnityEditor.Web.WebViewEditorStaticWindow' is inaccessible due to its protection level

    and so on.

    I have installed Unity 2018.2.7f1 (64-bit)

    Previously, the installation was on drive C

    I changed the cache location to another location. Why is he climbing here C:/Users/�嬥�/AppData/Local/Unity/cache?

    Also does not recognize Cyrillic symbols as I understood, hello to the inhabitants of the CIS countries - �嬥�

    I'll also note that I tried to install 2018.3 before - it was painful. How can I repair it now?
     
    Qbit86 likes this.
  2. ozi9891

    ozi9891

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Same problem here, it's due to that painful installation of 2018.3. Still haven't found a solution. Maybe someone from Unity developers could help? Would be great... my work is frozen ;// 2018.3.bugging.png
     
    Qbit86 likes this.
  3. ozi9891

    ozi9891

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    I've just sent bug report to Unity. Hope they give us some workaround :)
     
  4. masterial

    masterial

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2015
    Posts:
    40
    I confirm problem happens because of 2018.3... Had to revert our game to 2018.2.
     
    winxalex likes this.
  5. comtronic

    comtronic

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    Still no solution for this ? I've got the same issue and delete Library folder and revert to 2018.2 didn't help.
     
  6. Laguna_Seca

    Laguna_Seca

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Posts:
    109
    I was helped to create a new project and transfer all the files there.
     
    sSaltyDog and RatMoleRat like this.
  7. daniel-griffiths

    daniel-griffiths

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Posts:
    26
    Getting same issue after updating project via git.. any solutions?
    thanks
     
    Qbit86 likes this.
  8. Laguna_Seca

    Laguna_Seca

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Posts:
    109
    I was helped to create a new project and transfer all the files there.
     
    HiAvatar likes this.
  9. sanya_kotov

    sanya_kotov

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Hi guys, get the same error after instaling 2018.3/
    And I found the fix - just create new project and copypaste manifest.json from NewProject/Packages to you project.
    It works!
     
    sewy, F360, HarvesteR and 3 others like this.
  10. qoobit

    qoobit

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Posts:
    40
    Just a heads up to anyone being the brave pioneer using the latest betas (I've had to learn it the hard way a few times in the past), zip and backup your projects prior to jumping to the latest version of Unity. In more than one occasion has it mangled my project beyond repair. In this case I've ran into the same problems as well. I have attached the log for any Unity staff trying to solve the errors. I have a hunch it has to do with all the new features in 2018.3 that aren't backwards translatable to 2018.2 (ie. Nested prefabs) as I would think you would need to update 2018.2 somehow to be able to handle and recompose nested prefabs as standalone prefabs some how, which sounds like a headache of its own.

    Also in my scenario, I had committed some updates after using the beta, and it seems you can't cull commits on collaborate (or I've yet to find out how). I ended up pulling the latest version of the project committed using the beta back into 2018.2 and it shows the same errors you guys have and then I replaced the files in the branch with my backup copy prior to jumping to 2018.3. However after opening the project again, it still wants to pull the new commits from 2018.3. The timestamp is not updated to being further than the latest commit.

    I will keep poking to see how to restore this.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. qoobit

    qoobit

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Posts:
    40
    I've just successfully reverted the commit back to the 2018.2. After pulling all the new 2018.3 commits, overwrite your project folder with your 2018.2 backup with everything EXCEPT:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. /Library/Collab
    This will maintain the collaborate timestamp at the latest commit, and you can continue pushing changes in 2018.2.


    I hope this helps you guys.
     
    lucernagame likes this.
  12. Xtro

    Xtro

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Posts:
    290
    Just delete the manifest.json in Packages folder.
     
    Laniemme, HarvesteR, zap7 and 17 others like this.
  13. Pixygon

    Pixygon

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks! Worked like a charm! :D
     
    sSaltyDog likes this.
  14. Qbit86

    Qbit86

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Posts:
    408
    I have the same issues in Unity 2018.2.14 on Windows 10:
    Code (csharp):
    1. .../Editor/Collab/CollabHistoryWindow.cs(13,56): error CS0122: `UnityEditor.Collaboration.ICollabHistoryWindow' is inaccessible due to its protection level
    2. .../Editor/Collab/CollabToolbarButton.cs(11,42): error CS0246: The type or namespace name `SubToolbar' could not be found. Are you missing an assembly reference?
    3. .../Editor/Collab/CollabToolbarWindow.cs(26,42): error CS0122: `UnityEditor.Web.WebViewEditorStaticWindow' is inaccessible due to its protection level
    4. .../Editor/Collab/CollabHistoryWindow.cs(31,20): error CS0122: `UnityEditor.Collaboration.HistoryState' is inaccessible due to its protection level
    5. .../Editor/Collab/CollabHistoryWindow.cs(33,9): error CS0122: `UnityEditor.Collaboration.HistoryState' is inaccessible due to its protection level
    6. ...
    /cc @JoshPeterson
     
  15. Athos-Krul

    Athos-Krul

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Posts:
    19
    works even after restarting unity, thanks!
    P.S. This problem apeared when using unity (with git) 2018.3 on one pc and 2018.2 on another.
     
  16. bunichiroh

    bunichiroh

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    It works! Thank you very much.
     
  17. daniel-guimaraes1980

    daniel-guimaraes1980

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Hi Guys, I am a beginner so do not take my resolution so serious...

    I have installed the 2019.1.0a12 version and it worked fine (still showed the same errors but have ignored them not blocking the project). I know it is an test version, but worked fine.
     
  18. tomyhuang

    tomyhuang

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    I delete it but still get 50 errors in Unity.

    I try to delete AppData cache. Those errors goes away for a sec. After playing the project once, it crash...
    The main error it's complaining is about collab stuff in unity proxy package folder.
    It seems like it has problem with using current project with old version unity.

    I was using Unity 3.0 and try to change back to Unity 2.2, and I'm using Unity hub to open it.
    Do you have any suggestion for it?
    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  19. pachermann

    pachermann

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    54
    Work like a charm when i delete the manifest.json (after shutdown unity)
     
    TayyabMehboob likes this.
  20. amanssj3

    amanssj3

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    @pachermann damm you solve my problem like a charm .... thanks bro
     
  21. MarkeMark1972

    MarkeMark1972

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    I have a simple solution.
    1 - Open the Package Manager (Window->Package Manager)
    2 - Click the Unity Collaborate package from the list on the left.
    3 - Click the update button on the top left of the package manager window.
    Done!