Search Unity

Problem changing sprite color from script

Discussion in 'Image Effects' started by Annundur, Mar 3, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Annundur

Annundur

Hi everyone. I'm trying to change the color of a sprite from a script attached to the same object, but it's not working.

I'm developing a 2D game, and what I want is to place a semi-transparent color layer covering the full screen, to slightly change the tone of everything beneath (bluish during morning, orange during sunset, etc). I'm pretty new to Unity, so maybe my solution isn't the proper way to approach this.

I've placed a game object with a simple plain white sprite on it, and then I'm trying to change the "color" property of the Sprite Renderer component with a script like this. Since I was still testing, I haven't change the color transparency yet:

Code (CSharp):
    1.     public float duration;
    2.     private Color colorSunrise = new Color (88f, 165f, 209f);
    3.     private Color colorSunset = new Color (251f, 138f, 7f);
    4.     private float t = 0f;
    6.     void Start()
    7.     {
    8.         GetComponent<SpriteRenderer> ().color = colorSunrise;
    9.     }
    11.     void Update()
    12.     {
    13.         Color color = Color.Lerp (colorSunrise, colorSunset, t);
    14.         t += Time.deltaTime / duration;
    15.         GetComponent<SpriteRenderer> ().color = color;
    16.     }
    With this code in theory I wanted to set the sprite color to the sunrise color once the game starts running, and then gradually change it to the sunset color. But when I run the game, it simply shows the original plain white sprite, and its color doesn't seem to be changed in the Inspector.