Search Unity

Question Probelm with moving objects

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by JohnXanthos, Apr 27, 2021.

1. JohnXanthos

JohnXanthos

Hello, I am making a 3d game that has some objects and I want to make these object move in the x axis and have the same path always like going from x=1 to x=10 and then from x=10 to x=1 for example. Can you help me? I am new to unity so please explain it as easy as possible.

2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

3. JohnXanthos

JohnXanthos

4. FaffyWaffles

FaffyWaffles

Unity actually has a couple moving options, like Translate, MoveTowards, SmoothDamp, and Lerp. From what you've described, I'd highly recommend using the Lerping Method. I threw together an example Lerp script that explains how it works.
    Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using UnityEngine;
    4. public class SimpleLerp : MonoBehaviour
    5. {
    6.     public Transform target; // --- The Thing you want to Move
    8.     //-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------//
    9.     //The Important Stuff --- Vector3 Lerp(Vector3 startPos, Vector3 endPos, float t);
    10.     //-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------//
    11.     public Vector3 startPos; //Start Position when t = 0.
    12.     public Vector3 endPos; //End Position when t = 1.
    13.     [Range(0f, 1f)] public float t; //Value used to interpolate between startPos and endPos
    14.     //-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------//
    16.     public float duration; ///the bigger the value, the slower the object.
    18.     private void Start() ///Start is called once on startup. Used for initializing.
    19.     {
    20.         StartCoroutine(LerpCoroutine());
    21.     }