Search Unity

Preview 8.

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by eizenhorn, Jul 2, 2018.

  1. eizenhorn

    eizenhorn

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Posts:
    2,685
    Nowhere saw release notes on the preview-8 of ECS package, so may will be useful.
    From the familiar that I saw comparing with the previous version.
    Bad: Length now requires readonly keyword, will have to be changed throughout the project, oh I'm lazy. (Okay okay is a joke it's not bad)

    Now we can get index of ComponentGroup from Injected Group!
    upload_2018-7-2_18-56-33.png
    upload_2018-7-2_19-7-23.png


    Rewrited ArchetypeChunkArray also CreateArchetypeChunkArray now returns NativeArray<ArchetypeChunk> instead ArchetypeChunkArray.

    ScriptBehaviourUpdateOrder - CollectGroups, InsertWorldManagersInPlayerLoop, SetPlayerLoop now private\internal.

    Unity Mathematics preview 10- implicit bool operators for float2-3-4, added quaternion struct (with rotations, euler and many classic quaternion stuff), noise rewrites, math rewrites.

    Entity Debugger now can show palyer loop separatly by worlds or full:

    upload_2018-7-2_19-10-54.png upload_2018-7-2_19-11-6.png
     
  2. recursive

    recursive

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Posts:
    669
    I like this. I like this a lot.
     
    FROS7 and hippocoder like this.
  3. Singtaa

    Singtaa

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Posts:
    492
    The Entity Debugger no longer show custom UpdateGroups. This was very hopeful. Any chance to bring it back?
     
  4. eizenhorn

    eizenhorn

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Posts:
    2,685
    The last excerpt from the post is just about the display options, the full player loop should show everything, I'm not currently at the computer and I can not check, but I think custom groups should also be displayed
     
  5. Singtaa

    Singtaa

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Posts:
    492
    Doesn't show for me. All my systems are just lumped in the Update group now.
     
  6. floboc

    floboc

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    Posts:
    91
    Should it be "[ReadOnly] public int Length;" now then ?
    I just tried and changed it everywhere and at run-time I get the error "group Length must use the "readonly" keyword" on the exact same line where I added the [ReadOnly] attribute...

    Looking at the diff you showed in first picture, it seems that this error is always thrown ???

    EDIT: my bad, it was actually the keyword, so "public readonly int Length;" is working :)
     
    andywatts likes this.
  7. MartijnGG

    MartijnGG

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    74
    An important note. The systems displayed in the Entity Debugger are now shown in the order that they actually run in! Super handy, thanks!
     
    andywatts likes this.