Search Unity

Preventing Object Instantiation Inside Other Object

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by magnus0, Sep 5, 2018.

1. magnus0

magnus0

First off, if I am confusing I apologize, I will clearing if I need to.
    Now... I want to be able to instantiate an object ONLY if the instantiated object will NOT collide with any previously placed objects.
    Think of a Tetris game, but instead of objects falling into place, you place them. The thing I want to prevent is placing an object that doesn't fit (shape wise).
    Any help would be appreciated. Thank you

Oh, a few extra info:
    - Its a 3d game with a top down perspective.
    - I am not very experienced, if it wasn't clear
    - I am most familiar with C# (familiar being used lightly), but I will do the research to convert from Java if required... Not preferred but I'm not picky

Last edited: Sep 5, 2018
  2. TimmyTheTerrible

TimmyTheTerrible

You could do this a couple of ways. If your objects can be approximated by the typical primitive shapes(sphere, capsule, box), then it's pretty easy. All you have to do use Physics.OverlapSphere/Box/Capsule and see if it returns any collisions.

If your objects shape isn't one of these shapes, then your gonna have to probably setup an invisible collision prefab of some kind, and then use it to test spaces for collision.

magnus0 and SparrowGS like this.
  3. SparrowGS

SparrowGS

Timmy(TIMMAAAA) is right on the money, if a sphere is okay do the overlapSphere method.

if you have oddly shaped objects use the objects mesh as a way to detect it.

IE: Spawn an invisible collider with the objects mesh, wait a frame, see if OnCollisionEnter(or trigger, what ever) is called

if yes -> can't spawn
    if no -> can spawn

Joe-Censored and magnus0 like this.
  4. magnus0

magnus0

Thanks. I will give it a shot and see if it works (or see if I can muster the brain power to make it work).

5. magnus0

magnus0