Search Unity

Preparing blender model for unity

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by D3adly, Feb 15, 2016.

1. D3adly

D3adly

Hi, guys, I am quite new to unity and to blender. Did tons of tutorials, but in the end there is so many and a lot are quite crappy and it got me totaly confused. i have created my character (very basic robot, with animation of moving arms) and imported it in to unity. What i got was not what i expected, my model parts were separated, materials did not import (that one i fugured out, unity does not understand cycles materials). and my animations were wrong... My question would be - how should a blender model be prepared for unity:
    1) format (.blend or .fbx)
    2) mesh (should all parts be merged or not).
    3) origin of parts (should the origin of parts be at 000 or centered on every part)
    4) reseting transformations (should transformations be reset/applied)
    5) armature (should mesh parts be parented to armature)
    6) animations (should animations be done using armature only or can mesh transform animations be imported as well (those did not import correctly for me))

I know this is a lot of very basic questions that may seem stupid to many pros, but all the info on the net is very confusing, and in the end this may help more beginners.

2. MV10

MV10

3. Cygon4

Cygon4

1) Pick what you like. Unity can import .blend if you have Blender installed (it calls Blender to export to FBX behind the scenes). Exporting to FBX yourself can give you a little bit more control (eg. only exporting selected objects in case your .blend file contains bone shape meshes or other stuff you don't want exported).

2) You don't have to merge. If meshes share the same material and it makes sense to merge them, by all means, do so. Each separate mesh and each material means 1 more draw call, which can be a concern on mobile devices or if you have a lot of instances of a mesh.