Search Unity

  1. Improved Prefab workflow (includes Nested Prefabs!), 2D isometric Tilemap and more! Get the 2018.3 Beta now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Let us know a bit about your interests, and if you'd like to become more directly involved. Take our survey!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Prefabs losing connection when placed in the scene.

Discussion in 'Improved Prefabs' started by DigitalContinue_MS, Oct 11, 2018 at 4:37 PM.

  1. DigitalContinue_MS

    DigitalContinue_MS

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Posts:
    28
    We have been trying to upgrade our current project to the 2018.3 beta to test the nested prefabs and we are having an issue with the prefab loosing all the connections when placed in the scene. We can see in the prefab mode that everything is connected correctly, but when placed in scene it looses every reference.

    The frustrating part is we have several people trying to update to this version, and some prefabs are ok for some and breaks for others, We have tried getting the project fresh from git, and deleting the library files, but now matter what we try, the disconnected prefabs are always disconnected.
     
  2. runevision

    runevision

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Posts:
    1,318
    Do you have any compile errors in the project?
    If you had compile errors, have you tried reimporting the problematic Prefabs after fixing all compile errors?
    Which beta are you using?
     
  3. DigitalContinue_MS

    DigitalContinue_MS

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Posts:
    28
    So we are using 2018.3 b5. I just saw your post, and I think that the reimporting of the prefabs will work, we are currently testing on a few different machines