Search Unity

Pre-optimizing an Arkanoid clone too much instead of post-optimization

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GregPDesUGD, Nov 6, 2016.

1. GregPDesUGD

GregPDesUGD

I'm still learning Unity, even being exposed to it for several months on a spare-time basis. But I'm finding out from my conversations with my friends on Facebook that I'm pre-optimizing my game too much, which doesn't help. It doesn't let me explore features that are definitely available, or do things that become easy to manage. They say that post-optimization is the way to go, because then I'm able to see how well the game or scene works before I cut some of the stuff down, or simplify them, in order to solve some problems such as complicated AI or too many polygons rendered on camera.

For my current game I'm working on, which is an Arkanoid clone, I'm to build it for WebGL and upload it to Newgrounds for others to play. It seems that I'm thinking way too far ahead and worrying about frame rates, level of detail, and load times. In my case, it's about having the different states of a paddle, which rely on different meshes and loading them during the game instead of having all the different animated elements in one mesh alone and simply use imported Blender animation clips to make the transitions between the different states.

Is it really natural for an apprentice Unity developer like me to pre-optimize a game too much? What are the different reasons for this other than simply trying to make a game be too "perfect?"

2. zombiegorilla

zombiegorilla