Search Unity

Post Processing works in Editor, but not in build

Discussion in 'Image Effects' started by dgoyette, Jun 7, 2018.

  1. dgoyette

    dgoyette

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Posts:
    4,196
    I noticed that the Bloom effect (Post-processing Stack v2) is not working when I create a build of my game. Is there some list of Shaders I need to include in the Graphics settings? I'm already including the Bloom shader, so I'm not sure what else I might need to include. Or is there perhaps some other reason why post processing might not work in a build?
     
    Kaldrin likes this.
  2. dgoyette

    dgoyette

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Posts:
    4,196
    It seems that after I do a build, all post-processing effects stop working even in the editor until I switch to a difference scene...
     
  3. arybak89

    arybak89

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Posts:
    9
    Having the same issue here. Properties from the PPS are not showing up in the build. I get vary different results from the editor view to the build. Any luck figuring this out?
     
  4. dgoyette

    dgoyette

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Posts:
    4,196
    I didn't really figure it out, except to assume that it was related to the PPS2 version I'd been using from the github project. I ended up upgrading to Unity 2018.1 (for other reasons), and found that this isn't occurring anymore now that I'm using the Packages version of PostProcessingStack.
     
  5. malkere

    malkere

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Posts:
    1,212
    I'm on 2018.2.2 and deferred fog only works in the editor =[
     
  6. Daahrien

    Daahrien

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Posts:
    100
    same thing happening, in 2018.2.5 :(

    EDIT.- actually in my other project it works fine xd
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2018
  7. timothy92

    timothy92

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    Make sure you don't have 2 cameras in the scene, that's a common cause of this problem.
     
    pumpkinszwan likes this.
  8. malkere

    malkere

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Posts:
    1,212
    My game is entirely built dependent on two cameras, using techniques similar to kerbal space program. Sometimes I have more for render textures. It works fine in the editor with three active cameras. Doesn't work in build.

    Do you know more about this "cause"?

    Really the whole reason for using it is because of two cameras... If there weren't two cameras I could use any fog asset just fine. Without the "exclude skybox" option the second camera gets wiped out.
     
  9. Daahrien

    Daahrien

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Posts:
    100
    oh, in my project that doesnt work I have 2 cameras indeed
     
  10. Tonieh085

    Tonieh085

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Posts:
    14
    Same problem with 2018.2.14
    I have only one camera :(
     
  11. malkere

    malkere

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Posts:
    1,212
    I posted it as an issue in the Git in August, still no reply there either =[
     
  12. Lune

    Lune

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Posts:
    62
    In my case what solved this issue was:

    delete the camera you had before updating and create a new one, re add the post processing component and it works fine again.
     
  13. malkere

    malkere

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Posts:
    1,212
    I will try that. If that solves it you deserve a cookie.
     
  14. malkere

    malkere

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Posts:
    1,212
    I still can't get it to work =[
    Worse yet, it does work in a fresh project.
    So there is something, somewhere, somehow that is making it not work in builds for me =[
     
  15. Phoenix116

    Phoenix116

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Posts:
    39
    Are you using the post processing from packages? Seems it works much better
     
  16. malkere

    malkere

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Posts:
    1,212
    I tried several times to get that package manager to install it, but the asmdef file would always interrupt it and I was never able to. After updating to the latest git zip and after finding that Enviro was interrupting the fog on my two camera setup I was finally able to fix it. !
     
  17. Cloud-Ninja

    Cloud-Ninja

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    32
    @malkere - could you please detail the steps that allowed you to get the bloom effect to be the same from the editor to build? I'm experiencing the same issue. Appreciation in advance :0).
     
  18. malkere

    malkere

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Posts:
    1,212
    I never had any problems with bloom personally, only deferred fog. I recreated the camera that uses the effects twice, and I updated the package to the latest on the git repository, not using the package manager.
     
  19. CW_Studios

    CW_Studios

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Bro I'm having the same problem with the version from the package manager
     
    MaxPirat likes this.
  20. chaseholton

    chaseholton

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Posts:
    78
    Currently on 2019.1.1 and it does the same thing for me. I’m using SleekRenderer for light Post Processing for mobile and that works fine on mobile builds. I have a condition that switches based on platform to enable the PPS on anything that isn’t mobile and it used to work, but now it’s not. Nothing has changed code or project wise aside from updating Unity to 2019.1.1.
     
    thisaraunity likes this.
  21. LilGames

    LilGames

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Posts:
    570
    Unity 2018.3.8f1 here.
    PPSv2 2.1.6
    Works perfectly in Editor, does not work in builds. Tested Windows standalone exe on a Windows 10, GTX 1060 6gb and WebGL
     
  22. GoGoGadget

    GoGoGadget

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Posts:
    864
    Very weird dependencies that seem to break easily in PPv2. A reimport fixed for me in build, then I have had to migrate my own PostFX stack to hold all of its shaders in a "Resources" folder, as anywhere else (for whatever reason) the shaders weren't getting found through non-static FindShader calls.
     
    marquitecte00 and mamapig like this.
  23. cecarlsen

    cecarlsen

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Posts:
    864
    I have the same issue in 2019.1.3.f1 and also 2019.2.0b4. No Deffered Fog in builds. PostProcessing 2.1.6. Windows. Deferred Rendering.

    My player log burbs out this:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. WARNING: Shader Unsupported: 'Hidden/PostProcessing/Uber' - Pass '' has no vertex shader
    2. WARNING: Shader Unsupported: 'Hidden/PostProcessing/Uber' - Pass '' has no vertex shader
    3. WARNING: Shader Unsupported: 'Hidden/PostProcessing/FinalPass' - Pass '' has no vertex shader
    4. WARNING: Shader Unsupported: 'Hidden/PostProcessing/FinalPass' - Pass '' has no vertex shader
    I also tried to ditch the Package Manager and import the newest version directly from Github, but same issue occurs.
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2019
  24. Glader

    Glader

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Posts:
    456
    Just encountered this on 2018.4.1f1. I use two cameras, and have used two cameras in this particular scene, for years. Don't know why it's happening all of a sudden recently.
     
  25. ScriptsEngineer

    ScriptsEngineer

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Posts:
    37
  26. sergiusz308

    sergiusz308

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2016
    Posts:
    235
    Don't get it - should it be included by default, since build pipeline should be aware of what being used in the project?...


    Maybe it's matter of too aggressive shader stripping or whatever - I can't imagine track all non-unity shaders.
     
  27. mamapig

    mamapig

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I Luv U! this worked for me <3
     
  28. GVUnity

    GVUnity

    Joined:
    May 16, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Sunep and jwgsbbc like this.
  29. Daahrien

    Daahrien

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Posts:
    100
    That happens sometimes, for some reason shaders aren't automatically added and you have to put them there.
     
    jwgsbbc likes this.
  30. artdoctorka

    artdoctorka

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hey, guys! Had same problem, post processing was only in editor, not in camera.
    Solution for me was: go to camera -> Rendering -> check the post-processing.
     
    aleOkkav and granit like this.
  31. DanielDouglas

    DanielDouglas

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    SAVE MY LIFE
     
  32. UzairHassan11

    UzairHassan11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    I don't have URP or HDRP in my project so I don't see this option in my Main Camera.
    Other than that I've tried many options but none of them seems to be working to show Post Processing in mobile.
     
  33. astracat111

    astracat111

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Posts:
    725
    Also make sure to include shaders in Project Settings - > Graphics.
    You can also try to put the shader files inside of the 'Resources' folder.
    Do check your Camera as well. Make sure you have a Post Processing Profile set up and everything is checkmarked. More than likely it's due to just not dotting the 'i's and crossing the 't's.
     
  34. alfredbaudisch

    alfredbaudisch

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Posts:
    45
    No matter what I do, Post Processing does not work in Builds in an URP project, while it works fine in the Editor. Any idea?

    upload_2022-12-26_11-8-39.png

    upload_2022-12-26_11-9-1.png

    upload_2022-12-26_11-9-14.png
     
  35. alfredbaudisch

    alfredbaudisch

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Posts:
    45
  36. valentin56610

    valentin56610

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2019
    Posts:
    156
    Hello

    I am using Unity 2021.3.14f1 and I am having this issue as well, Post Processing working all right in editor but not in built game...
    Happens both on MacOS and Windows...

    Am using the Built in pipeline
     
  37. Zaknarfen

    Zaknarfen

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    In my case, it also had to do with the quality settings. In the quality settings, my WebGL builds were using the default medium quality option, so I couldn't see some shader effects. As soon as I set it to High, everything worked again.
     
  38. Glass_Vault_Studio

    Glass_Vault_Studio

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2020
    Posts:
    7
    My issue was similar. Here is how I fixed it:
    • Double check to make sure the main cam has post processing enabled.
    • Make sure the shaders are in the "Resources" folder.
    • Make sure you have the correct Renderer's in the URP Asset. To check, go to Project settings > Graphics > (Double click on the URP Asset). When viewing the URP Asset, you can select your renderer. It turns out I had selected a random one that was from an asset instead of the URP Balanced, which is what I needed.
    • Not sure if this was necessary, but I also changed the Quality settings to default to balanced.
    upload_2023-11-10_15-14-35.png
     

    Attached Files: