Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Post FX Studio v2.0 [ RELEASED ]

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by echologin, Jan 2, 2014.

  1. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,078
    Anytime !
     
  2. Alf203

    Alf203

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Posts:
    461
    Just posting to say that this asset is amazing.

    I'm really excited for area effects, it will be incredible !
     
  3. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,078
    Thanks Hopefully i can on that soon
     
  4. chelnok

    chelnok

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Posts:
    673
    What i understand, this asset also works with unity free, but its slower compared when used with pro. I tried to find some info what slow means in this context, but coudnt find, and i'm not really sure if any of examples were done with unity free?

    I know there is some other postfx assets for unity free, and i'm pretty sure they all use readpixel technique to do their magic, or at least i cant imagine any other way to do it. While talking about using this with unity free, can any (lightweight) fx be used, or is the readpixel the killer bottleneck for all? If i test performace with any other asset using readpix, should it be comparable for your asset?

    Many ppl seems to say this is fastest asset for postfx they ever used. Did they use free or pro, is unclear. Any unity free users out there to share some info how this worked in real life?
     
  5. morepixels

    morepixels

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Posts:
    9
    Is there a way not to compile shaders for each scene? I would like to have the identical effect on all levels of the game, what would be the best practice?
     
  6. super-cypher

    super-cypher

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Posts:
    116
    Reading earlier in the thread, you said this hasn't made as much as you had hoped.

    well can i make a suggestion. I think you need to make quite a few more example use demo's, i don't feel you are showing off what it is actually capable of doing. Maybe some current users can give you some ideas.

    cheers.
     
  7. morepixels

    morepixels

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Posts:
    9
    Is there a way to turn off rendering to texture when turning off the effects? Right now, it's rendering to texture even if there are no effects, which causes aliasing and kills performance without any need to.
     
  8. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,078

    It is really slow when using unity free, this is more of a convenience then a usable free solution
    I am 99% sure i am going to take out the free support because its hindering updates by making
    things over complex while at same time not being useable ...
     
  9. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,078
    Not at this time ... i don't know if this would work but you could try putting manager in the 1st scene then mark it in script as DontDetroyOnLoad ... if that works let me know ..

    but ill keep that in mind in next update
     
  10. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,078
    I have tried to do that .. but it caused one frame of garbage on screen ... are you using unity pro ?
     
  11. wangzy_88

    wangzy_88

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Posts:
    14
    Hi,
    I want to use Post FX Studio in my game.And I import settings from demo scene but my game change like this:



    I can only see something on the top,would you help?I use 1.01 version.
     
  12. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,078
    I don't see the screenshot ? I'm guessing that is what its suppose to be
     
  13. Silly_Rollo

    Silly_Rollo

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Posts:
    494
    Is there an alternative to having to run 'Compile POST FX Shaders' on each scene? Every time I run it Unity freaks out and spends half an hour importing a bunch of files already in the project again.

    Also, I really want to have the post fx only appear on a camera I am rendering to a render texture that is also instantiated at runtime so I'm not setting it up ahead of time in the editor. What's the best way to go about that?
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2015
  14. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,078
    Thats odd what is it importing ? it should just compile the shaders .. did you move my asset from its default location or anything ? or add anything in the echoLogin folder ?

    If you use the Camera depth range option .. then create camera in Awake and set depth properly that should work
     
  15. 3Duaun

    3Duaun

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Posts:
    600
    I'm having some difficulty with Post FX Studio. Can anyone assist me with setting up a Depth of field AND a bloom effect in Pose FX studio? Thanks very much for any help.
     
  16. Crazydadz

    Crazydadz

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Posts:
    50
    Hi! Really nice plugin! I want to know if we can have SSAO and Area Effects with postfx 2.1? I can't find them in the example, so maybe this isn't done yet? Are you still planning them?
    Thank you!
    David
     
  17. 3Duaun

    3Duaun

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Posts:
    600
    PFX is such an efficient and powerful tool! thank you for creating it!

    Ater exploring the SampleProjects, and the previous posts in the thread, I've found the MobileBloom demo, thanks much for that.
    Can anyone assist me in now to approach creating a depth of field effect in PFX? Or is that coming in a future update?
     
  18. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,078
    DOF is not in the package yet ... I will add it as soon as possible
     
    hopeful likes this.
  19. 3Duaun

    3Duaun

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Posts:
    600
    Thanks a ton Echologin. I know this package hasnt made you a ton in revenue. But I do appreciate you putting your time into it :)
     
  20. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,078
    ti does ok .. still have many plans for it . since i will be using it in my own game
     
    OnePxl likes this.
  21. fearfactory

    fearfactory

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Posts:
    49
    You will absolutely dominate the Asset store if you get these working, in this order. I quote this from an experienced dev who makes amazing scenes. I applied it to my scene, unfortunately it doesn't run very well on mobile, but I believe you can make it happen from what I've heard. I haven't purchased your Asset because I think that many people like me are looking specifically for bloom+dof to work well on mobile along with these post processing effects. You have rivals who name their Asset (Search engine optimization) better than you, such as "bloom dof mobile", so you could use a renaming once you have these effects in and you will turn up in searches more. Their code runs like crap btw and I've bought "mobile ready depth of field" packages and they ran like garbage.

    In this order the dev told me to use (which doesn't work at all on mobile, but looks amazing) :
    "Vignetting, Bloom (intensity low), Depth of Field + AutoFocus from http://wiki.unity3d.com/index.php?title=DoFAutoFocus, SSAO (Must have ! If your terrain has ugly shadows, then disable), Tonemapping (Automatic Reinhard)"
     
  22. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,078
    Now that unity5 pro is free ... im taking out unity free support this will make adding things a hell of a lot simpler

    DOF = i have an idea to make it as fast as it can be . not sure how those other packages are doing it ..
     
  23. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    5,192
    First thing I thought of, actually, when I heard the news. Looking forward to some new stuff! :)
     
  24. 3Duaun

    3Duaun

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Posts:
    600
    SOOOOOO need DOF in PostFX... and awesome news that you now get to solely focus on pro with the U5 announcement
     
  25. fearfactory

    fearfactory

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Posts:
    49
    Here is a free code package you can inspect to see how he got performant depth of field. Obviously, its main issue is that it requires custom shaders to be applied into the scene. But, its blazing fast:
    http://www.photonworkshop.com/index.php/blog/dof-bloom-package/

    Other, paid, packages don't perform nearly as well.

    You probably have a better idea on how to do it though so hopefully this doesn't influence you in a bad way, but gives some help.
     
  26. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,078
    Yeah i seen that package ages ago ...I may be able to get it faster will just have a quality setting or something ..
     
  27. fearfactory

    fearfactory

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Posts:
    49
    The biggest downside to his is that you have to place his custom shaders all over your objects, when that could've been used for Physically Based Shading, etc. that would make your scene look better.

    If you can beat that, you should advertise your package all over the forums.
     
  28. pixlweaver

    pixlweaver

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Posts:
    92
    I've been experimenting with Post FX for a project, and am running into a couple issues that I can't seem to work around.

    1) Sometimes when I use the compile shaders button, the effects no longer work. I'm not finding a way around this. Have tried importing settings, removing and re-adding the camera. Am I missing a step?

    2) I set up an effect on my computer with Unity free. When it's built and tested on mobile, however, the effect turns into a black screen while it's on. The build computer is using Unity Pro. Do I need to re-compile shaders with Unity Pro or do some of the Post FX not work on mobile? I have tried compiling in Unity Pro but run in the issue listed above. The effect is a simple distortion.

    Anyone happen to know fixes for these? I believe echologin is away at GDC this week.
     
  29. RyuMaster

    RyuMaster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    I have simple effect, which distorts screen and applies some color overlay. If I set it as 'ON" inside editor (play on start), it plays just fine. If I set it to off, and then on start run this line of code:

    GameObject.Find("_echoPFXManager").GetComponent<EchoPFXManager>().StartEffect(0, 0);

    the effects is not running. What might be the case? I get no error, and I have only 1 group with 1 effects, so it really should work fine from code.
     
  30. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,078
    The plan is to not have to do things like that
     
  31. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,078
    Are you the one who added me to Skype ? this will be easier to figure out there ( if not add echoLogin )
    I wish i was at GDC .. in reality i have to help take care of my sick dad 1/3rd of the week :(
     
  32. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,078
    U shouldn't need to do a ObjectFind on manager .. look at the example code in one of the projects

    Code (CSharp):
    1. public class emp : MonoBehaviour
    2. {
    3.     private EchoPFX _fx;
    4.    
    5.     void Start ()
    6.     {
    7.         // Do this at start so its not allocating stuff during runtime
    8.         _fx = new EchoPFX ( "RenderGroup:0", "EMP" );
    9.     }
    10.    
    11.     void Update ()
    12.     {
    13.         if ( Input.GetMouseButtonDown(0) )
    14.         {
    15.             _fx.Start();
    16.         }
    17.     }
    18. }
     
  33. OnePxl

    OnePxl

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Posts:
    307
    Aw S***, best of luck, I've been there.
     
  34. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,078
    thanks .. its weird I'm used to just working 24.7 now this .. but what can one do .. I'm only one in family that works at home
     
  35. RyuMaster

    RyuMaster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    Ah, thank you. I did see this one in the docs '_fx =new EchoPFX ("RenderGroup:0", "EMP");', but I was 100% sure its for creating new effect from scratch. Wasn't very smart of me :)
     
  36. pixlweaver

    pixlweaver

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Posts:
    92
    Yes, that is me. Oops! I got an auto-response email from someone I had emailed before you, saying they were away at GDC. I didn't realize it was someone else's response until now. Sorry about that. Best wishes that your father recovers speedily.
     
  37. mrBeam

    mrBeam

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Posts:
    11
    Hi echo! Is there some way for us to use a rendered texture as mask for your shaders in the plugin? I render a neat moving BW texture and I need to use that as a mask.
     
  38. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,078
    That a feature i am working on .. so you can do realtime area effects

    Right now i am in process of making this all Unity5 only so i am ripping out all the read pixel crap which is too slow to be useful ..
     
    OnePxl likes this.
  39. mrBeam

    mrBeam

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Posts:
    11
    Cool! Although we are on 4. So will reading rendered textures only be for 5?
     
  40. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    5,192
    Render textures is for Unity 5 indie and Unity 4 Pro. Unity 4 indie can't use render textures and is thus forced into the read pixel stuff which is too slow.
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2015
  41. mrBeam

    mrBeam

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Posts:
    11
    Thanks for clearing that up! Luckily I'm on 4 pro ^^
     
  42. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,078
    R u going to unity 5 soon ? i can stay on 4.6.3 but it would be a pain in da ass

    tho other then demos ... u could manually copy source files back to a 4.6.x project

    i won't take the 4.6 support out of code ( only 3.5.x )

    And yes after this update it will only use render-textures ( 4.6.x pro will work )

    which means all future updates will not work with 4.6.x free version but will work in unity 5 free
     
  43. mrBeam

    mrBeam

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Posts:
    11
    Pl
    Please don't stay on 463 on my account, do what's best for the product. It gives me another incitement to persuade everyone that we need to move to 5 ;)
     
  44. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,078
    OK cool ... ! this will help updates get done faster
     
  45. Project-Mysh

    Project-Mysh

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Posts:
    223
    Hi there echologin,

    You have a planned release date for unity 5 version? I'm considering to buy this because the performance hit that unity have with the Image effects queue.
     
  46. WPCJack

    WPCJack

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Posts:
    26
    Just bought a copy.

    Really excited about the U5 conversion
     
  47. kriket

    kriket

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Posts:
    33
    WHEN r u moving this to u5?
     
    jovino likes this.
  48. HansBernd

    HansBernd

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Posts:
    49
    Hey there,

    I have a hard time setting effects variables per script.
    I want to control a persistent contrast effect, which is active all the time.

    My Shader consists of only one pass and only uses the contrast effect option.

    Could you give me a code example of how to set the Cutoff parameter in that effect option? Rendergroup's name is "RenderGroup:0" .

    Thanks!
     
  49. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,078
    Sorry I missed this post .. do u have Skype ? ( name = echoLogin )
     
  50. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,078

    I just submitted the unity5 version to asset store and lowered price to $25.00


    Sorry it took so long I had multiple bad things happen this year ...


    if anyone wants the latest version who has bought it before just PM me your order number or add me to Skype ( echoLogin )
     
    chelnok, Project-Mysh and hopeful like this.
unityunity