Search Unity

Possible to HDRP edge detect each object and show overlapping objects? "Floor plan" effect?

Discussion in 'High Definition Render Pipeline' started by dbillings_thehalseygroupllc, Jan 6, 2020.

1. dbillings_thehalseygroupllc

dbillings_thehalseygroupllc

Hello,
    I have no experience with writing render passes and I could really use some assistance with a problem I am having, I would like to have an edge detect type effect to create a "floor plan" look from an orthographic camera looking directly down onto the scene. I was previously pointed to this repository by Alilievr https://octolinker-demo.now.sh/alelievr/HDRP-Custom-Passes

the two effects that seemed to be possible solutions are the TIPS effect and the Outline Effect. The TIPS effect works GREAT in perspective view but breaks down in orthographic as it can't seem to outline flat edges that are perpendicular to the orthographic viewing angle, which makes some objects not show up on the "floor plan".
    The Outline Effect seems much more promising and almost works the way I need to, however it only outlines layer tagged objects as a whole and not as individual objects ontop of eachother. Example:
    (how it looks)
    upload_2020-1-6_10-26-22.png
    (how it should look, the horizontal bar is ontop of the vertical bars but currently it looks as if they're one object)
    upload_2020-1-6_10-29-16.png

Any assistance on the matter or ways to achieve the desired effect shown above would be greatly appreciated!
    using Unity Version 2019.3.0f3 and HDRP

2. dbillings_thehalseygroupllc

3. antoinel_unity

antoinel_unity

Unity Technologies

4. dbillings_thehalseygroupllc

Thank you! Is there a line I can edit to change the color of the black background to another color?

5. antoinel_unity

antoinel_unity

Unity Technologies