Search Unity

Question Possible External Web Interface?

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by Autumn_Leaf_Technologies, Sep 25, 2022.

1. Autumn_Leaf_Technologies

Autumn_Leaf_Technologies

I am a relatively new Unity Developer only having been here for a year or so, however in that time I have learned the engine and a lot of its capabilities. I was wondering though if any more experienced developers could potentially answer this question. I am working on a game called PDEP where you play as the Police or Fire Department in a fictional city named Emirs Port. I have wanted to make the game multiplayer for a while now but simply the way I have my game set up multiplayer would not work. So I had another Idea. I was going to make a website and web interface that would allow players to use it as a CAD system and then when something happens in game for them they can enter it to the CAD and it would then spawn in on everyone else's game. Not in a multiplayer server just as separate single player instances. I doubt this is possible being able to remotely trigger in game events from a 3rd Party web site, but if it is could someone please let me know, and also maybe give me an idea on how to go about doing this. Thank you in advance!

2. angrypenguin

angrypenguin

If it doesn't have to be real-time then yes, it's definitely possible. It's a pretty big task, though, almost of the "if you have to ask, you're not ready" variety. But here goes.

1. You need to be able to store scenario data from your game to a file. For security reasons, you want a text-based format rather than a binary format, so look at JSON and XML. Note that you need to be able to save this at runtime, not just from the Unity Editor, which means giving your built game some way to identify what to save.