Search Unity

Possessed but non-applied knowledge

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Myhijim, Oct 2, 2013.

1. Myhijim

Myhijim

Hey all.

Well as a C# hobbyist and aspiring "Programmer" I have decided it is necessary to prepare myself for university, although I program on a more hobbyist level, and really enjoy it. Just a bit of background information, I am an Australian year 11 student doing his HSC.

I have been trying to stay on top of my studies at school to supply more time for C# personal studies, and during this free time I study source code and attempt to learn new methods through any means necessary. This is what this post is about.

It seems that I understand the majority of concepts involving C# up to a fairly intermediate level including a level of generics, inheritance, polymorphism as well as some handy problem solving skills and a solid understanding of Advanced and Extension Mathematics. However, my problem comes when trying to apply said knowledge. I CAN apply it, but the majority of the time I see no need to and therefore revert to my old methods, an example of which are properties and delegates.

I will often just stick to fairly generic functions and my own made classes with inheritance and polymorphism and not apply my "better" knowledge.

So I guess as my own personal view of the matter, as some sort of perfectionist in my own work (which sucks), I always want to do things the best way, and will spend hours researching different methods, just to fall back on my old methods, and so the cycle repeats.

Write Code ----> Be unhappy with it, condemn it as useless compared to other people's ----> Research ----> Repeat.

Can anyone give any advice of how to break out of this rut? Tomorrow I am going to my local bookshop to buy 4 or 5 books on programming in C# to try refine my skills.

Should I spend less time writing and more time reading and learning? Or the other way around?

Thanks everyone
    Myhi