Search Unity

TextMesh Pro Position of text is wrong

Discussion in 'UGUI & TextMesh Pro' started by SimRuJ, Feb 10, 2021.

1. SimRuJ

SimRuJ

Hi everyone,

I've never used TextMesh Pro before and just created my first object. In the beginning it was positioned at (0,0,0) but the text was huge, so I changed the font size to 8, the width to 10 and the height to 5.

The position is still set to (0,0,0) but the text isn't actually in the middle of the scene but more like at (-2,1,0). Rotating the text makes it even worse.
    The anchors are still all "0.5" but the margins (right and bottom) are both set to "3.xxx" and if I set them back to 0, the yellow binding box turns really big.

How do I position the object at (0,0,0) and give it only a small bounding box (basically just surrounding the text, without additional spacing)?

Last edited: Feb 10, 2021
  2. Stephan_B

Stephan_B

When using the <TextMeshPro> component that works with the Mesh Renderer, it is important to know how Camera settings can affect the text object. For instance, an Orthographic camera has a size property which affects the rendering size. It is important to set this size appropriately.

For instance, if the Game View's vertical resolution is 720 then the camera size should be set to 36 which will result in a 1:1 scale. You should be able to find several posts about proper Camera scaling / sizing. For example, if you create a Cube of scale (1, 1, 1) and set the camera size properly the cube will be exactly 10 pixels where 1 unit = 10 pixels.

When using the Canvas system in Screenspace overlay, you do not need to worry about the camera scale / size as that is handled by the Canvas where the <TextMeshProUGUI> objects will be scaled in according to the Canvas.

<TextMeshPro> objects will be the same exact size / scale compared to <TextMeshProUGUI> when the Orthographic camera size is set properly where the rendering will be considered 1:1.

When using the Rect Tool in the scene view as seen below