Search Unity

Pose RIG Problem

Discussion in 'Animation' started by oliv_3r, Aug 20, 2015.

  1. oliv_3r

    oliv_3r

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Posts:
    9
    Hi all,

    I have a little problem with my character import from 3DS.
    When i set a pose with the default biped on 3DS through CAT(Character Animation Toolkit), and then import to Unity, Animation Type set to Humanoid, i have some issues about the rotation/position of the hands/digits.
    I have already seen 100 forums with no solution, i would to know if i do anything wrong on 3DS, is it a bug ?
    The images speak for themselves.

    Thanks in advance.

    import.png withunitymodel.png
     
  2. Mecanim-Dev

    Mecanim-Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    1,675
    Those kind of issue are often related to your default T pose. If your default T pose is not a T stance you may get some rotation offset here there where body part doesn't respect the T pose.

    Take a look at this blog post, It does explain all the humanoid rig in detail and how to setup your default t stance.
    http://blogs.unity3d.com/2014/05/26/mecanim-humanoids/
     
  3. dibdab

    dibdab

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Posts:
    976
    you can adjust the T-pose in the rig tab a bit and the retargeted animation will adjust too. but there's a certain limit to it and with some animations just won't get the same thing as in the original animation.
     
  4. oliv_3r

    oliv_3r

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Posts:
    9
    Thanks for fast reply Dibdab.
    What do you mean about adjust T-Pose ? When i import a character from Mixamo i haven't to do anything all works nice by default, why from 3DS i have to do this ?
     
  5. oliv_3r

    oliv_3r

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Posts:
    9
    You made my day, thanks to you Dibdab and Mecanin.Dev.
    Everything is good after adjusting T Pose, but the question now is "Can y have to adjust T Pose for all my imported animations ?". Could i export from 3DS without adjusting T Pose in Unity ?
     
  6. Mecanim-Dev

    Mecanim-Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    1,675
    The answer depend on how your character was skinned and how complex your rig is. We do have algorithm that try to set your character in a T pose when you create a humanoid rig. We first try with the skinned mesh pose which is often a relax pose or a t pose, then if this fail we do try to adjust each transform.

    I would say that most of the time we can adjust the T pose automatically for you, but there is some rig that we cannot find a good T pose, this where you have to manually adjust it.
    And for those case were we can't find a good t-pose you will always see some retargeting offset when you apply another animation clip(like your character hand not at the right place) so it easy to spot those issue
     
  7. oliv_3r

    oliv_3r

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Posts:
    9
    Okay i understand.
    I'm simply looking for a manipulation which allow me to import animations with correct T Pose from 3DS without modifying anything in avatar in Unity, believe it's possible. I'm using the basic biped in 3DS.
     
  8. oliv_3r

    oliv_3r

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Posts:
    9
    After a few tests, the solution is :
    Export all your animations with perfect T Pose in frame 1, then import to Unity, T Pose of avatar is fully respected. Just configure your animations to begin in frame 2. So simple.
     
    Mecanim-Dev likes this.
  9. Mecanim-Dev

    Mecanim-Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    1,675
    By the way there is no need to create and setup an avatar for each file that you import. If all your animation use the same rig you can have one file that define your avatar and t-pose, and then for each other file that you import animation simply set Avatar definition to 'Copy From Other Avatar' and select your source avatar file.

    importer.png
     
    theANMATOR2b likes this.