Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

Poor game performance (low fps)

Discussion in 'Windows' started by dreadris, Oct 21, 2013.

  1. dreadris

    dreadris

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    Hi,

    Recently I've deployed my game to windows 8 RT on Dell Xps 10. The average FPS was 15 whereas on iPad 2 game plays smoothly with more than 30 fps average. I've made a simple test with empty scene and two screen sized textures and the result was that when these two textures are on the screen fps drops to 30 whereas game with one texture runs 60 fps. Then I made a second test - I've moved one texture around the screen and what I've noticed was that when the moving texture covered more than half of the screen fps dropped from 60 to 30. It seems pretty strange to me as it doesn't look like a fill rate issue. Also frame doesn't drop smoothly - it looks like renderer had to render twice more pixels when I move the texture only one pixel so it covers half of the screen. Do you guys now what could cause this kind of behaviour?
     
  2. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,735
    Did you remember to set it to build as 'master' in Visual Studio? :)
     
  3. dreadris

    dreadris

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    Hmm, where can I set it?
     
  4. Tomas1856

    Tomas1856

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Posts:
    3,945
    You should do it from the toolbar in VS, if you don't see it, then go to:
    Build->Configuration Manager->Active Solution Configuration.
     
  5. dreadris

    dreadris

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    I've exported the project to a fresh folder but still I have only Release and Debug configurations - no trace of "master". I'm on Unity free 4.2.2f1.
     
  6. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,735
    Release should do! My mistake, master is only included in Unity 4.3, which isn't released yet.
     
  7. dreadris

    dreadris

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    Unfortunately it doesn't matter which build configuration is set - I see same frame rates. Also I've noticed that showing windows sidebar (on the right side) produces the same effect. Any ideas?
     
  8. dreadris

    dreadris

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    Ok, my test was incorrect. I've been using uncompressed textures.