Search Unity

[poll] $ales question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Randy-Edmonds, Aug 30, 2006.

?

How many copies of your game do you actually sell (or estimate to sell if not finished yet)?

1. 1 per day

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. 1 per month

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. 1 per week

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. I'll be lucky to ever sell 1 copy.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. 2 to 5 per day

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. 5 to 10 per day

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  7. 10 to 15 per day

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  8. over 15 per day

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Randy-Edmonds

Randy-Edmonds

I am currently creating my first game (with Unity of course) and I am very anxious to get it finished and see how many downloads/sales it generates. My estimates (guesses) range from 1 to 16 sales per day; 100 to 1600 downloads per day (averaging a 1% conversion rate).

I am a professional programmer. I make very good money contracting; C# .Net programming. Like I said, this will be my first game, but I have experience selling/developing shareware. I currently am selling a few screensavers online at NatureScreenSaver.com. I hope the game sells better than the screensavers; I only average about 1 sale per week.

:?: Is anyone else out there in a similar position? What are your thoughts/estimates on sales?

2. Mindless_Soul

Mindless_Soul

That 1 lucky to sell would be me. My hands are full enough just piecing together a game that looks decent. I am so extremely far from a professional at this point that I haven't even thought of marketing a game at all.

Some other people in here could be selling their games, (I have seen some pretty awesome stuff), but it seems that most of the games that come out of here are freeware, as of now anyway.

This makes me anxious to see the results of the poll...

3. Joachim_Ante

Joachim_Ante

Unity Technologies

There are many ways to market your game. Shareware is one of them. But i strongly encourage you to look at getting a publisher for your game.